PATER TO PEMBROKE DOCK
Please Note due to space and copyright issues images and scanned documents have been removed, but by clicking This Link you can download and view the full version of the work. The document remains the property of Ron W Watts and cannot be reproduced without his express permission
More information has been added by Mr T Fish concerning Bush Street
While 55% of our history has already been recorded by a number of eminent writers in some shape or other, this paper looks at the names of our streets and in some cases, using the 1851 Census to see who occupied which house. However, we soon came to the conclusion that it would not be practical at this time to research the whole town, therefore we have only covered parts of the Centre Ward as it stood between 1851 with some even earlier coupled with some minor intrusion into its neighbour Wards.
We make no claim that what has been written here is completely accurate, as much of what happened in the town has already been lost in time, and while some is still in the hands of our elders, some of what we are told would be closer to Myth and Magic rather than what took place, especially when it comes to placing a shop or public house in the right position.
It will at some stage be necessary for others to fill in the comings and goings at least on a yearly base, to add to it for future generations? This record is far from complete, as new information comes to our notice almost on a daily basis; furthermore those who contribute to it in the years ahead may find other subjects worthy of recording.
The beginning for Pembroke Dock came in 1812, when a misunderstanding took place between the government and the late Honourable Robert Fulke Greville, proprietor of the land at Milford, where a dockyard was used by the Admiralty. The consequence was that Mr Stone, the master shipwright, whose observant eye had discovered the singularly advantageous situation of Pembroke Dock, then called Pater for a naval arsenal of the largest extent, recommended it to the Government, who on surveys being made, quickly took advantage of the proposition, and in 1814 H.M. Dockyard Pembroke was formally established by Order in Council of 31st October 1815.
The Royal Dockyard was established on the south shore of the Cleddau River, between the remains of a 1757 zigzag fort, named so because of its shape, and a stone built tower, better known as Pater Church which today (2009) still stands defiantly within the former H.M. Dockyard, where in the opinion of some was an old Church; but there is good reason for believing that it was really a domestic building rather than ecclesiastical architecture. It is certain that David de Patrick Church had a residence here. 'His daughter and sole heiress, Ellen, about the 1st of Henry VI., married John Adams, Esq., of Buckspool (Bierspool), several of whose posterity in the reigns of Henry VIII., Edward VI., Mary, and Elizabeth served in Parliament for the town of Pembroke.'-Arch. Camb., vol. VI., 1851. This old tower is in all probability all that is left of David de Patrick Church's family house.
On the other hand, it might well be said that the David de Patrick Church family derive their name from a local Patrick Church? Or was it their name that was best remembered, and did he not only live there but was he the lookout for Pembroke Castle which was and still is just two miles south.
The map on page five is a copy of an undated Ordinance Survey showing the boundary of Pembroke and Pater Ward, and while it is difficult to read, those two areas are clearly shown. That said you will see the Pater Ward is in the parish of St. Mary and starts close to the Pembroke River in the south up to the banks of the Cleddau River in the North. You will also note that the East/West borders stretch from the Pennar mud flats on the west side, to the Lower Road known today as Ferry Lane on the east side. Furthermore Upper Road now named Pembroke Road can also be seen, as can the track on which Pembroke Dock was initially built on.
Today that track is still in use; it starts at the corner of Commercial Row and Queen Street and continues via Queen Street, Dimond Street and Hawkstone Road all of whom were build on it, today the only remaining part of that track is the path known as ‘Bird Cage Walk’.
At this stage I must bring to your notice that had Mr White (a sheep farmer) not taken the £4,455 offered by the Admiral in 1813 Pembroke Dock may never have existed today, Vivian Hay, who owns the Nut Shell shop on Queen Street, proudly reminds visitors that Mr White is an ancestor of his.
The population of Pater Ward by 1831 was 3,076. The population increased over the years as shown by the following Census returns:-
Census Inhabited Houses Population.
1851 1069 6,236
1861 1353 10,190
1871 1670 9,622
1881 1752 9,871
1891 1912 10,481
2008 3950 9,154
Up to 1891 the totals included; Military and Shipping Populations of Pembroke Dock, the other difficulty in recording accurately was the size of the Ward. For instance Pater Ward up to around 1900/06 recorded houses which today are in Pembroke, and to this day the Population numbers do not count students who are away from home.
In 1875 at the age of 66, James Anderson Findlay wrote a handbook for visitors to Pembroke Dock in which he writes, ‘Pembroke Dock is situated on the south side of Milford Haven, in the County of Pembroke, at a distance of about 9 miles from the sea. Latitude 51° 42’ N., Longitude 4° 55’ West, of Greenwich and is 286 miles from London by Railway’.
Most of the Town was built before 1914. However the number of new buildings were slowly extended the Town eastward and southward from the Dockyard, while others were the replacements of old and substandard houses.
Between the two wars there was virtually no new builds in the area and it was not until 1945 that new estates of private and council houses were planned. In the 1950s and early 1960s it was Government policy to demolish whole areas of ‘unfit’ houses and the Pembroke Borough Council, implementing this policy, demolished the whole of King Street and King William Street. Many other houses were classed as individually unfit and were also demolished as part of the same policy.
The closure of the Dockyard in 1926 was felt by all, including towns and villages throughout the south of the county. But another blow to the town came, when in 1967 the Military left the town and the garrison, which was once the seventh largest in the United Kingdom closed.
Many felt this was the final blow and a great many families left the town never to return, while others remained and retrained to find work, that stubbornness paid off and today Pembroke Dock possesses a number of first class steel and welding Companies complete with other disciplines who supply to a number of companies on both sides of the Cleddau River whether it’s for Oil Refineries, Gas Terminals or Power Stations the work force at Pembroke Dock can and do supply their needs.
By the close of 1814 the Royal dockyard was expanding at an incredible pace. And at that time the workforce would walk from as far away as Milford Haven, Narberth and Dale, and would not return home until Friday, but would sleep at their place of work, it was therefore found necessary to provide housing for them, and with the need to have this workforce nearby, the first row of buildings were constructed on the east side of the dockyard running north to south, and as the buildings were self build by the workers who wished to live in them, the Admiralty helped them by allowing them to leave work at 1600hrs as opposed to 1800hs. And having completed their house, it did not take them long to realise the potential of renting their front rooms to the traders.
This eventually gave the street the name of:
No.1 was the first house in the ‘row’ and later become the Customs House. The house was originally a dressed stone single storied building used by H. M. Customs. The exact building date is not known but was probably c1818. It was later converted into a house by adding a second storey. In 1939, it was occupied by Frederick Stuart Griffiths and Martha Griffiths. It was bought by Dyfed County Council in the 1980s and used as a Respite Care Centre for the handicapped until it was demolished in the early 1990s to make way for the construction of Route 9.
No.2 The early years are yet to be researched, but in 1939 it was occupied by Joseph M. Robinson and Agnes Blanche Robinson. It was demolished after 1939 but before 1953. No record has been found of the reason for demolition.
No.3 The early years are yet to be researched, but in 1939 it was occupied by John O’Brien and Catherine O’Brien. It was subject to a demolition order and demolished in 1950.
Nos.4, 5, & 6 The early years are yet to be researched; these buildings were demolished before 1939.
No.7 The early years are yet to be researched, the Census of 1939 show that it was occupied by Stanley Devote, Edith Devote and Louise Brickle. It was later included in the ‘Clearance Area’
No.12 in 1957 this building was purchased for redevelopment. The Anchorage day centre now stands on the site.
No’s.9 & 10 Bowling’s Furniture shops and restoration works occupied these houses, Bowling’s shops are now gone and the buildings have stood empty for some time. In 2009 these shops fronts are to be restored.
No.15 the BELL and LION Public House was mentioned in the Pigot & Co Directory between 1870 and 1914, the licensee at the close was James Evans. It appears that the new owner was Thomas G. and Mrs Valerie Bowling who chose not to register as a Public House, but they were certainly open during WW2.
WILLIAM TREWENT lived and traded in ‘Standard House’? In Slater’s Directory for 1840, he is listed as Linen and Woollen Draper, plus a Grocer a Maltster, Brewer and a General Commission Agents. On the birth of his son Francis in 1814 he set in place; The Trewent Scholarship. Later Francis Trewent took on the business and moved it to Meyrick Street which was still there in 1870. He was a Justice of the Peace, and Mayor of Pembroke for 1866/67 he was also the first Treasurer of the first School Board in the Borough formed under the Education Act 1870.
No.17 BOWLING’s traded from this building in 1856, for all kinds of household furniture, carpets, hearthrugs and linoleums. Closed in 2006 awaiting re-development
No.? 1850 was the first and last time the LONDON TAVERN was mentioned in the Hunt and Co’s Directory and Topography, the Licensee was George Ellwood.
No.? The ROYAL OAK was here between 1840 and 1870, the licensee was Nathaniel Owen. The next time it appeared was in Pennar 1880.
No.? Hunt and Co’s Directory and Topography show that the NAVY TAVERN was on the row in 1850, but in 1870 it appeared in Pembroke Street, which suggests that Pembroke Street, in the early years, was part of Commercial Row.
No.15 the BELL and LION was first mentioned in 1870 and closed in 1914.
No.? The GEORGE appeared in1870 and lasted just ten years, the licensee was Mary Nicholas.
No.? The MILFORD ARMS appeared in Slater’s Directory in 1870
No.23 A. PHILLIPS & SON (C. S. Phillips and R. Morgan) Tailors and Outfitters of Repute
The slogan was; before you purchase your Girls or Boys School Wear, etc. Boys Blazers from £3/19/6. Next came Mr Snow who traded as a cloths shop under the name of HIPPS Ltd, he closed in the early sixties. In 2007 TV Connections moved to this building.
No.24 CHINA GARDEN Chinese food outlet
No.26 ALBION PROPERTY MANAGEMENT Residential Lettings
No.25 THE BARBER SHOP
No.28 the ‘BEEHIVE’, in 1825 A. L. Williams and Moore & Co built the first chemist; Moore and his wife Elizabeth (nee Dawkins) built this house on the first quarter of the proposed market. The chemist closed in 2006, and in the last quarter of 2008 it was converted to flats. However because it is in a conservation area the Façade has been sympathetically restored and the building still carries the name ‘Moore’s the Chemist’. And it was inevitable that with hundreds of workers in the yard the traders soon arrived. The following is a write up by the Traders Association Pembroke Dock & Milford
The ROYAL OAK opened in 1830, Nathaniel Owens was the Licensee, and according to Hunt & Co’s Directory it closed in1850. It was apparently used as a place of call for mail and coaches. Its sign, which has long disappeared, was painted by a supposed well-known artist who after his self-imposed task absconded, no one knew when or where he went.
The ROYAL WILLIAM was first listed in Robson’s Commercial Directory in 1840 it also listed the Licensee as William Painter. At some point in 1850 it closed. It was next listed in 1870 at No.3 Pembroke Street, and in 1884 it changed its name to the White Heart, where according to Slater’s Royal National Commercial Directory the licensee was Thomas Page. Here we have a repetition of the Navy Tavern which was mentioned earlier and goes some way in believing that Pembroke Street was at some stage part of Commercial Row.
The young lady above was printed on a post card, originally the photo showed her at the northern end of Commercial Row looking out over the water.
Commercial Row also hosted the Red Lion but as yet I have no knowledge of its where-a- bouts.
On the North side of Commercial Row, overlooking the river a new street was emerging as a number of houses were being built, and was eventually named:
N0.1 The name came from the occupant, who was the Master Shipwright Mr Thomas and his wife. By 1830 the house having been empty for a while became the KINGS ARMS which was first registered in 1830 and to this day (2009) is still a Public House.
By this time the street had materialised and renamed:
The name speaks for its self as the river at full tide comes up to the road.The remainder of the houses were completed in short time and with it came a few more Public Houses.
No.? MARINERS registered in 1835, by 1870 a pub with this name was licensed in Lewis Street
No.17 CROWN AND ANCHOR registered in 1926
No.? CHAIN AND ANCHOR registered in 1870
No.33 this was a farm house built before 1800, following the construction of new houses in that area the farm was sold, the house was revamped and is now hemmed into a terrace wish still stands on the street.
No.? MASONIC registered in 1870
No.? MILFORD HAVEN registered in 1870
No.? HEART OF OAK registered in 1870
Because a Hotel or Public House is not mentioned in the Commercial Directory for Taverns and Public Houses, does not mean it was not where you thought it was, or that it had closed, in those days and in most cases they would not waste money to get their House mentioned in the Directory.
The dockyard like its workforce was expanding day by day, which in 1826/7 triggered more housing, such as;
This road acquired its name from the fact that it went to Pembroke, but as we have already discovered that part of the road from the Market to Victoria Road is believed to have been an extension of Commercial Row and was later changed to Pembroke Road (c1850) the remaining part of the road, that is between the junction with Treowen Road at the top of Ferry Lane is still in place.
As it was the most direct route from Pembroke to the Dockyard, it was also used by members of the Admiralty to ride to and from Pembroke to collect their mail, but it was not long before the Admiralty gave this new hamlet a name which would then allow the Mail Coach to stop here, the address was; The Royal Dockyard, Pembrokes Dock, Pembroke, and the drop off point for the mail was the Clarence Hotel on Victoria Terrace, where they also dropped the London papers, where at 10 o-clock a person would read the paper aloud to the gathering crowd.
The Exchange Supply Store was opposite the Market House (1826), Rollings opened his store in 1820, below is a resume of what he traded;
Looking at the picture on page 10 we can see that Lewis & Son had a business beside Rollings, but as yet we have little information on his business except that he later moved into Mr Huxtable’s butcher shop on the other side of the street, when he moved to Dimond Street.
No.15 T. Rogers has been the proprietor for 12 years and supplied wine, spirit, ale and stout including British and foreign wines of the best quality.
No.21 A picture of Mrs Mary Morgan’s Bazaar is below, she had a stationers and fancy goods shop from about 1901 until sometime between 1920 and 1923. She also published a large number of views of Pembroke Dock both as postcards and in bound volumes.
The MAYPOLE DAIRY Co LTD was trading on this street, today (2005) it is a Café, where the original sign is still in place.
No.11A The Aero Cafe (Opposite the Market) Luncheons, Teas etc supplied at reasonable terms.
A Nunnery existed on the west side of the road, which now has been converted to apartments
While we are on this street I will mention that in July 1855 new reforms were introduced in the Army, which opened places for soldiers to increase their learning, the Royal Monmouthshire Militia having arrived that year set up a reading room in Pembroke Street. It is thought the reading room was in the building (which in recent years the hire of films and DVD’s). No payment was required of the men to make use of the room, but a Lance Corporal was appointed as a reading room clerk and he would open it from 1130hrs daily. The papers and journals, which could be found in there were as follows:
The Times, The Globe, News of the World, The Star of Gwent, The Monmouth Beacon, Hereford Times, Illustrated London News, The London Journal, Punch, The Family Herald, United Services Gazette, Potters News and Cassel's illustrated Family Paper.
In 2009 Pembroke Street consisted of 35 houses.
The Museum has also acquired a metal coal burning cooker which was apparently made in Pembroke Street; apparently a foundry was on the west side of the street!
Following is an advertisement from a page of an unknown publication in which it appeared.
No’s.2 & 4. (London House) G.H. TEASDALE the date that No.2 was built is not known but No.4 (or a replacement) was being built in 1881. From c1884, the premises were occupied by Joseph Hugh Teasdale who was a linen and woollen draper, haberdasher, Glover and Hatter. Born in Chichester in 1829 and by 1841 was an apprentice draper to Mr John Jordan of Main Street, Pembroke. He was there in 1851 but appears to have joined the Navy. His widowed sister in law, Margaret C. Teasdale was aged 40 and born in Castlemartin.
Margaret’s husband had become a partner with a Mr Joseph James in a drapery business at London House, 29 Pembroke Street. Margaret Teasdale lived there with her children – Hugh aged 8, George aged 7, Herbert aged 4, Walter aged 2 and Rose aged 1. The business was known as Teasdale and James. According to Mrs Peters, the firm of Teasdale and James, drapers, was one of the first shops to have gas lighting in the 1860s.
By 1882 Joseph Hugh Teasdale had moved to Pembroke Dock to take over the draper’s business in Pembroke Street. It is probable that they moved to their new premises at Nos.2 and No.4 Pembroke Street at this time. Joseph became a Justice of the Peace and the first President of the Pembroke Dock and Milford Haven Chamber of Commerce in 1882. He died in 1897 and was the last person to be buried in Park Street Cemetery.
When a new peal of bells was installed in St. John’s Church in 1902 the Teasdale family paid for one of them. The shop appears to have closed before 1939 because the premises were used by the fire service for a short time during W.W. II.
Both buildings were demolished in 1956 and the Nunnery for the Sacred Hearts of Jesus and Mary built on the site. This closed in the early 1990s and the building has now been sold.
No.33 Pegler's Stores (pictured on next page) this was a double fronted shop with living accommodation over. The shop has now been converted to a house.
No.35 From 1870 to some time after 1901 this yard was a coal yard operated by Miss Margaret Lewis. In the 1920s and 1930s a bake house existed on the site and an enamelled sign for ‘Millennium Flour’ appeared on the high gate.
The yard subsequently became a blacksmith’s shop and later the works of Haven Welders who were steel fabricators.
However the Admiralty still required more housing and eventually another three streets took shape, the first was named;
Acquired its name from the people coming to market, and would tie their horse to the metal rings on the edge of the pavement; with the launching of HMS Clarence this street renamed to:
Because it was felt that HMS Clarence, launched in 1827, was a ship of the line, it deserved more than a Hotel which was on Victoria Terrace; Clarence Street also supported a Public House named the Castle.
No.35 Mrs Evans were trading in ‘Nalther Tablets and Presto Powders’ I wonder what illness a person had to have for these or was it something for cleaning the floor!
The second street to be built had over the year’s three names, the first was;
However those living in the street called it;
Which derives from a maker of nails, who carried on his business in the street? The name was changed c1905 to become:
In memory of Wellington’s success against Napoleon on June 18th 1815 At the same time the east side was demolished and re-built. In 1881 there were ten houses in the street.
No. 1 Eliza Johnson, a widow aged 59 a Lodging House Keeper and Thomas Picton unmarried aged 38 a Wheelwright.
No. 2 George W. Finn, a painter aged 55 and his wife Sarah aged 48, with their two sonsWilliam, unmarried aged 25 and James aged 18 both were Painters, their two daughters Sarah A. aged 13 and Emily aged 11.
No. 3 James George, Skilled labourer aged 44, Ann his wife aged 40, daughters Mary Ann aged 17 and Sarah Jane aged 15 both were Domestic Servants. Emily, daughter aged 13, Henry G. George, son aged 7, and daughters Rosena aged 5 and Louisa aged 8 months.
No. 4 James T. Harries, seaman aged 25 and Isabella, wife aged 25.
No. 4 Thomas Rees aged, Greenwich Pensioner and his wife Martha, aged 36. John Stanley, son aged 1 year and John Wilson, a Seaman (Boarder) aged 29.
No. 5 Caroline Morris, a widow aged 59 and Peter son aged 15 – Errand boy.
No 6 James Skahen, Blacksmith aged 50 and his wife Betsy aged 50.
No. 7 Michael Morse, Blacksmith aged 28 and his wife Mary Ann Morse, aged 28.
No. 8 Thomas Jones, Coal merchant aged 68 and his wife Rebecca aged 67.
No. 9 Alfred Connolly, Shipwright aged 45 and wife Jessie aged 33, daughters Jessie aged 12, Adelaide aged 8 Florence aged 6, Alice aged 4, Matilda aged 9 months and Alfred son aged 10.
No. 10 John Beynon, Pauper aged 99 and his wife Elizabeth aged 86 with their daughter Mary (widow) aged 41 who was a Muffin Vendor and Martha granddaughter aged 12.
And was renamed to become:
(Not to be mistaken with Front Street which overlooks the river)
In 1816 this was the last street which the Admiralty allowed, and it consisted of just one row of cottages and was named Front Cottages, as it was the last row of houses to be constructed between it and Lower Road (Ferry Lane). A Congregational Chapel was opened on Good Friday 1824 which was situated at the southern end of the street, in the gardens of two of the houses. The reason for building in the gardens came about when the landlord refused to lease any land for a nonconformist chapel, however the gardens already had leases therefore the Landlord was powerless to stop them. This Chapel was so popular that it became too small for the congregation and although it was enlarged it was still not large enough, therefore it was replaced by a new Church on Albion Square c1867. The old building called Albion Hall, was used as a Public Hall (and later as a Salvation Army Barracks) until it was demolished in 1904, to allow for the completion of the present Wellington Street and Brewery Street houses.
No.1 was added on at the south end of the street in 1820, which consisted of a two story house and was demolished in the 1970s as part of a road widening scheme. In 1939 this house was occupied by John Rossiter, Alice Mary Rossiter and Alice May Rossiter.
In 1905 the houses in Front Street were demolished and replaced by two rows of houses, following which the road was renamed BREWERY STREET which was to commemorate the Royal Pembroke Dock Brewery, which was originally built in 1817 by Robert Lilwall and first appeared in Robson’s Commercial Directory in 1840, descendants of the family are still in the area. The three streets plus Commercial Row were joined at the north end by the track which went all the way to Ferry Lane, while on the south side they were connected by a vast flat open space from the old Brewery building on the east end and the Market Building (1826) on the west side, which was then named Albion Square after Albion House, which can be seen on page 48.
As the Dockyard continued to grow so did the workforce who prompted yet more houses to be built, this time they went to the south side of the dockyard, these were named;
Because it was close to the Market (1826)
Nos. 1 to 9 - These houses were severely damaged in an air raid on the 6th November 1940. The sites were purchased in December 1952 by the Borough Council. A well known photograph showing the damage to Market Street and in the background similar damage to Princes Street and Cumby Terrace.
This information came from an Admiralty map now held by the town Museum, on which Queen Street West was sometimes referred to as ‘OFFICERS ROW’. Later, thought to be 1845/1850 this street was renamed Cumby Terrace, in remembrance of Captain Cumby R.N. who fought at Trafalgar, and who actually died in his office, which was in the Royal Dockyard at the age of 66 in 1837; and was buried in Park Street South Cemetery.
A little note about the Cemetery and Chapel it was consecrated on the 26th September 1834 on land given by Thomas Meyrick. Christenings could also be carried out in the Chapel (when the Vicar was already present for a funeral) as a matter of convenience to the parents. The Parish Church for the area was St. Mary's, Pembroke until 1846, and although the Cemetery was not used for general burials after the Kingswood (Llanion) Cemetery open in 1869, there was still the occasional burial; the last of these being Mr J.H. Teasdale J.P. in 1898, Teasdale was also an Officer of the Pembroke Dock Artillery Corps.
The Wikipedia encyclopedia states that Cumby’s grave site is now a car park; as yet (2009) this has not happened.
An Admiralty Map which the Pembroke Dock Museum now have, show this street by this name, however at this time we cannot find where the name originated from. The speculation is that it came about following the publication, by Herman Melville 1819-1891, of the novel Moby Dick in 1851.
All the buildings thus built, up to 1845/1850 was registered in Llanreath, and this was because at that time the nearest community was the village of Llanreath. We have very little information on this street, except for the following:
Nos.1 and 2 These were severely damaged in an air raid on the 6th November 1940 and were demolished. No.2 the Farmer’s Arms which first registered in 1830, the Borough Council purchased the site in December 1952.
No.3 was severely damaged in an air raid on the 12th May 1941 and demolished later. The occupiers, Mr Maurice Heath, aged 70 and his wife, Mrs Charlotte Elizabeth Heath aged 72 both lost their lives. This site was also purchased by the Borough Council in 1957.
No.4 This house was also severely damaged by the same bomber and was demolished later. Mrs Agnes Blanche Robinson aged 52 lost her life.
Melville Terrace (also known as Dockyard Street, the Avenue and Lover’s Walk), two houses were built on the corner of Melville Terrace and Melville Street by Mr Joseph Taylor R.N. which were subsequently bought by the Admiralty. They were used to house the Chief Boatswain and the Chief Inspector of Police. In 1959, the Borough Council purchased both houses from the Admiralty as housing stock, but they soon fell into disrepair and were demolished.
Yet more houses and shops were about to be built, and as the town began to shape Commercial Row began to lose its glamour as the traders moved further away from the noise and smells of the dockyard. Commercial Row was practically empty at the turn of the century therefore in an effort to revitalise the area a program of tree planting was put in place between 1902/1903, it was also noted that where the trees were to be planted the Admiralty were the owners. However, as the land ultimately belonged to the Government and provided permission of the Lords of the Admiralty was given, tree planting could go ahead. Permission was forth coming and the planting went ahead, a certificate was given to those who planted a tree, one of these certificates has survived and we note that Miss Gwadys Webb planted tree number fifteen.
In Mrs Peters book she wrote;
‘Some trees have recently been planted in Commercial Row. Councillor Davies of Princes Street has been the means of getting some saplings planted there a short distance from the hard, along the Dockyard wall and the lower side of the market-house. When these trees, which have been presented by different townspeople have grown, it is well within the range of possibility that Commercial Row may once again become the fashionable promenade as in the days of the unlovely crinoline and of Dun dreary whiskers.’
Miss Gwadys Webb planted tree number 15 in 1903. And because the land belonged to the Government, permission of the Lords from the Admiralty was necessary for the planting.
While there were a few houses in the area by those who could afford to built, there was no further construction on a large scale for a year or two. The next batch of buildings were for the Officers of the Dockyard, and these houses were constructed each side of the same track which joined Clarence, Wellington and Brewery Street, but this new batch was approximately a mile away so relieving them of the noise and the smell of the ‘yard’, today those houses are on:
Which was named after Hawkestone House in Shropshire, as Viscount Hill was Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces (1828-1842) and owned Hawkestone House in Shropshire, at some stage he married into the Meyrick family, who owned most of the land on which Pembroke Dock now sits.
David John of Park Street North tendered an invoice dated January 18th 1902 to Mister Herbert for building his house at a cost of £351-10-0, that house is beside the stone wall of the Railway Station.
Shortly after Hawkstone Road was completed a block of houses on the south side became known as:
Named after Apley Castle in Shropshire, when Thomas Charlton’s mother died in 1858 he inherited this castle (see also Charlton Hotel Bush St & Charlton Place), and he took his mothers maiden name ‘Meyrick’. Born 14th March 1837 died July 1921 aged 84, he was titled 1st Baronet Meyrick and as we know, one of the principal landowners in Pembrokeshire was T.C. Meyrick Esq. To day there are still a number of pubs and hotels named Charlton in Shropshire.
Apley Terrace came about by taking those houses between Gwyther Street North and Argyle Street on the south side of the lane (Hawkestone Road) and renaming them.
To date only two families have been located.
No.1 Dr Donald Stewart and his wife Mary Elizabeth S. Stewart occupied this house. The house was three stories but was seriously damaged in the air raid of 12th May 1941 and completely rebuilt less the third floor. At some stage No’s.1, 2 & 3 were purchased by Mr Jimmy Lade who then adapted the houses to a home for the elderly under the name of Apley Lodge.
No.8 Mr Fredrick William Powell was trading as a Draper from his front room in the 1900’s
Apparently this name came from Plymouth and Argyle football team, in the early days of the Dockyard apprentice’s who signed up in Pembroke Dock travelled to Plymouth to learn the various trades.
From here it gets a little difficult to confirm in what order Pembroke Dock grew, remembering that Commercial, Clarence, Wellington and Brewery Street was still registered in Llanreath, complete with the Market (1826) Market Street, Princes Street and Cumby Terrace.
What can be confirmed is the first row of 15 houses which was constructed just 200 yards from the Admiralty housing in 1845, on what became Dimond Street.
The following is quoted from the deeds of the Temperance Hall. (…with the messuage or tenement erected and built by the said William Griffiths on the South side of the said piece or parcel of ground and now used as a dwelling house and Temperance Hall being the fifteenth house Westward from the beginning or East end of the said road or street called Dimond Street and numbered or intended to be numbered 15 in the same street’).
At this point I must also tell you that in 1906 the Pembroke Borough Council also decided that this row would extend as far as the gates of the railway station on the north side and to the corner with Gwyther Street on the south side. The whole row of houses on completion would be named:
This was to honour the work of Charles Palmer Dimond who was a London Solicitor and a Trustee of the Bush Estate. Therefore you will notice that the first fifteen houses as mentioned above are on the south side of the street, and they will have two numbers, for instance Humber’s shop which is known as ‘Humber’s Corner’ will have No.1 but following the Councils decision in 1906 its new number became No.50 and so on.
This photo was taken on Dimond Street East near the junction with Water Street to the right and Law Street to the left, in its life this junction has had two names; Humber’s Corner and Star Corner, and it appears to depend when you were born which name you will use.
It would appear that the line for this new road was taken from the line of the Admiralty House’s, therefore our journey starts at the north east side as decided by Council in 1906.
The dates of some of those who lived or worked on this street, is still being researched, the street was not completely built up until after the First World War.
No.53 W. Llewellyn & Co was trading as a Builders Merchant and had an office next to the Railway Station, with a yard for coal & anthracite on Front Street, complete with a showroom on Dimond Street East.
No.52 Slater’s Directory for 1870 lists the Railway Public House in Dimond Street East, the licensee was Sarah Davies. In the 1884 Directory it was listed as The Railway Hotel at No. 2, The Railway Hotel (formerly the Adelphi) Gwyther Street North, the licensee at that time was Henry Elliot. The reason the Railway appears to have moved into another street is because in 1870 the public entrance was on Dimond Street East but in 1884 it was on Gwyther Street North. The Railway Hotel (formerly the Adelphi) was destroyed by fire in October 1914 and remained derelict and roofless until 1941 when it was further damaged during the air raid on the 12th May. It was finally demolished in 1944. Mr John George Page was the licensee up to about 1901 (C.J. Page’s Wine and Spirit Vaults) followed by his wife Mrs Mary Page. There is only one known photograph of the premises. On this site now is a bungalow which was first a Doctors Surgery and now (2008) is the Aurora Health Centre.
No.51 Dimond Street East the Prince of Wales Public House was registered in Slater’s Directory list for 1870 to 1901 in Laws Street. The list for 1914 to 1926 puts the Prince of Wales back in Dimond Street. The change of street comes about when the public entrance faces into another road.
No.52 Mr Ted Garner retailing in men’s suits and ancillaries, as yet it is not known when he arrived nor when he closed. In 2001/2 it was used as an office, and in 2003 it became a three bedroom house, in July 2009 it was vacant.
No.1 (now) No.50 – No1 was the first house to be built between Hawkestone Road and Front Street (Brewery Street) The earlier years are yet to be researched, but we know that Cowtans Music Shop was trading in grand piano’s, organs, brass and silver instruments. He was followed by Mrs G.M. Humber who bought the building, her husband Ted Humber then opened a grocery shop here. At some stage Douglas Burton rented the building and opened a Dress Shop. This was followed by Mr Crawshaw who was selling stationary and newspapers. ‘Crazy but True Furniture’ traded here for a period, but the building was destroyed by Fire in 2007, the land was cleared and has now lain empty throughout 2008.
No.49 Dimond Street East ‘The Three Tuns’ public house appeared in Slater’s Directory for 1870, the licensee was Ann Scurlock who lived in the apartment over the pub.
No.2 (now) No.48 the early years are yet to be researched, it is not known when Mr Howard Rollings moved in but he was a stationary and newspaper seller, and was in close competition with G.M. Humber. The competition between them raised a few eye brows as each morning about 0945hrs you would see Humber in his Model ‘T’ and Rollings on his 8hp Harley Davidson going to Hobbs Point to collect their respective newspapers. They would race back into town and on turning into Dimond Street they would throw their papers for their respective shops onto the pavement and continue the race to the Dockyard gate, the first one to reach the gate would be selling the bulk of there papers to the workmen, who were not allowed to leave the yard for their lunch break. Later Jack Humber was shown as retailing Papers and a Toy shop from No.48. Today the shop has been bought by South West Associates Insurance.
No.47 Mrs Mays Grocery and Sweet Shop were followed by Mays Travel Agency and finally the Shop-a-cheque Company.
No.3 (now) No.46 the early years are yet to be researched, but in 1909 WM & HY Bowling had both a chemist shop and dental surgery. They also traded in false teeth; apparently he was also the first in town to install and generate electric lighting. Following him was Mrs Hall who had a gown shop. The building was later bought by Jack Humber for his home, and he was followed by the Pembrokeshire County Council Careers Centre. In 2008 ‘Johns’ Furniture is trading here. However with a recession take a grip in March 2009 John is closing.
No.4 (now) No.44
In 1942 No.44 was occupied by Mr Percy Rees had a drapery shop here, he apparently set high standards for himself and his staff of elegant young ladies, he was also the first to have an aerial cash carrier which Miss Poly Morgan use to collect payment and return any change required. Next Mr Freeman nicknamed ‘Bunky’ who was a tailor who earned his nickname from encouraging the “Docks” soccer team, although for myself I cannot see where ‘Bunky’ and ‘Docks’ come together, perhaps it’s because I was born in Somerset. Any way he later moved to Pembroke. He was followed by Victor Humber who set up a Ladies Hair Salon and in 2008 D&D Discounts store took the building.
No.43 in the early years, papers were sold here, it was also a toy shop. Later Ted Gardner had a Gentleman’s outfitter here and he was followed by a Furniture shop and finally Rembrandts the Jeweller.
No.05 (now) No.42 the early years are yet to be researched. It is not yet known if Thomas Frazer & Son (Draper) was the next to occupy these premises, but he was followed by Backhouse musical shop who took residence around 1909 followed by Mrs Polly & Annie Jenkins Fruiter & Florists, they also made wreaths. In 2007 it became the ‘Callamanga’ Flower Shop under new management.
No.41 was a private house, but later became an Electrical Showroom.
No.39 the Alexandria was built in 1870 and the Licensee at that time was W. Page, in Kelly’s Directory for 1891 it shows the ‘Alex’ in Water Street, but in 1914 it list’s it back in Dimond Street at which time it became the Alexandria Vaults, The Licensee at that time was Mrs Elizabeth Vittle. Today ‘2008’ it is apartments with a Beautician parlour on the ground floor. In February 2009 application was made for change of use to offices.
No.7 (now) No.38 the early years are yet to be researched, but we know that in 1926 Thomas Frazer & Son (Draper) occupied these premises. This was followed by, Percy Reece selling Haberdashery. The occupiers in 1939 were Emily Frazer, Arthur Eber Cox, Gwendoline Cox and Frederick Owen Jenkins. Next to occupy No.38 was R.M. Collins Est. 1971 retailing school wear (see Laws St) and was followed in 2005 by the Aegis Insurance Company.
No.37 the early years are yet to be researched, we do know that the Leek and Westbourne Building Society having been established since 1856 traded from this place, the Manager was J.R. Williams. In 1868 the photographer William Trindale was trading from here, William his son (born 1881) took on the business and in 1891 a Mrs Sarah Ann Middleton was working from here, but by 1901 she had disappeared, the next to trade from here was Davies the outfitters followed by the Pembroke Dock Permanent Benefit Building Society which later merged with the Britannia Building Society.
No.8 (now) No.36 the early years are yet to be researched. Mr Joseph, Bakers & confectioners, who had a bake house behind the shop. And from 1920 J.W. Hammond & Co. Ltd. used the premises as a printers shop. Mr Woodhouse the Confectioner and Tobacconist used the shop, and at some stage Percy Reece Haberdashery had the shop followed by Hunts the Baker who gave way to Palmers Shoes. Today the Rebus Hair Salon occupies the building.
No.35 Mr Elliot traded here, but as yet it is not known what he was selling. Lloyds Bank arrived 1910 and in the 1960’s following the buy out of the Trustees Saving Bank it became Lloyds TSB. Note the picture on page 19, the building with the bay window, this is now Lloyds Bank; but as you can see it was previously an apartment over a shop.
No.9 (now) No.34 the early years are yet to be researched, but in 1939 it was occupied by Harry William and Margaret Jane Claxton. Followed by a dentist! Then came Mr Johnson ‘The Book Maker’ who was succeeded by Corals the Turf Accountant; in August 2008 a start was made to the building for conversion to two Flats, but to date May 2009 it has not been finished.
No.33 the Mechanics Institute; seen above and behind the horse and cart, was built by the Admiralty and used as a place of learning for Dockyard Workers. The Birth of the Pembrokeshire Labour Party was in this building as was the County Library, while the Magistrates Court were on the first floor. Mr Grenville Davies’ Estate Agency moved into the ground floor room when the Library closed. Mechanics’ Institute was a handsome building. Its foundation stone was laid 27th June 1862, by Mrs. Ramsay, wife of Captain George Ramsay (now Earl of Dalhousie), R N., C. R., superintendent of Her Majesty's Dockyard, and one of the patrons of the above named institution.
The site was liberally granted by T. O. Meyrick, Esq., for the term of 99 years, at the nominal rent of half-a-crown, per annum. It possessed a fine reading room, which is amply supplied with all the daily and weekly newspapers, periodicals, etc.; and was open from 9 a.m. to 10 p.m. The Library contained 3,500 volumes; which children in the Coronation School made use of, and there was a small museum in connection with it. Members would pay sixpence per month for the numerous advantages which this excellent institution offered.
Note - Thomas Durbar Harries was born in Pembroke c1818 and lived with his wife Elizabeth at the Mechanic’s Institute. Living with them in 1881 were their two sons, Thomas M.M. Harris who was a carpenter and shipwright and Edgecumbe D. Harris who was a printer. This building is now in the ownership of the Pembroke Dock Museum Trust.
No.10 (now) No.32 the early years are yet to be researched, but in 1926 the building was occupied by Frederick J. Jenkins who was a boot and shoe repairer, in 2006 ‘Select’ a woman’s clothing shop took it over. Today it is a Kabab House.
No.31 the early years are yet to be researched. Prior to 1959 this was a private house owned and lived in by Mr Kenneth McAlpine the former Borough Surveyor and was bought up by the Midlands Bank in 1959. This is now known as the HSBC.
No.11 (now) No.30 the early years are yet to be researched. At some stage Charles and William Joseph lived here, he also had a bakery at No 13 Laws Street but he appears to have died before 1881and his widow, Elizabeth carried on the business as Elizabeth Joseph and Sons from the same address. In the 1881 census she is shown as having four children; Charles aged 21, William aged 19, Elizabeth aged 16years and Minnie aged 12 years. All except the youngest were employed as confectioners and sugar boilers in the business. By 1901 they were trading at both No.24 and 30 Dimond Street. In 1914 they were also at No29, and in 1926 they were still trading from No.30. At some stage Modes Ladies Fashions moved into the premises, they were followed by Western Arts now (2008) a Kebab House. No.29 at some stage Tracy’s Iron Mongers shop traded from here; latterly it was the Pharmacy of Griffiths the chemists Ltd, retailing among other items toiletries by, Helena Rubenstein and Elizabeth Arden Griffiths the Chemist today Rehorn Entertainments own the building.
No.29 The early years are yet to be researched, but according to Frank Owen an estate agent, this building was occupied by ‘Professor Dakota’ a descendant of a Great Indian Chief (did he come here with Buffalo Bill’s rodeo!) when last seen in town he was selling charms for all ailments and he also claimed to be a specialist in foot complaints, and would display in the window the most awful corns and bunions. Until the boot and shoe merchant next door complained that his business was going down hill, at some stage Norman Grieve was trading in Fresh Fish here. Next was J. WALTER EVANS M.P.S. agent for the National Health Service Dispensing, Toilet Requisites, Cameras, Photographic Developing & Printing. He also stocked items by Tweed, Norman Hartnell, Yardley, Max Factor & Goys plus a comprehensive selection of Ports – Sherries – Table & Tonic Wines in Stock.
No.27 James Tracy had an Ironmongers shop here, stocking General and Furnishing Ironmonger, Brolac Paints, 100s of colours, Garden Seeds, Prestige Minet Mop, Pressure Cookers and Tala Kitchen Ware.
No.12 (now) No.27 records show Johnson the Dyers occupied this double fronted shop followed by Western Arts who later moved to the other side of the street opposite to the corner of Lewis Street, some time later they moved to Queens Street it was from this building that Western Arts dissolved. No.27 was taken on by Mr Philip Tallett trading in Fruit and Vegetable, he in turn was followed by a bakery shop.
No.13 (now) No.26 the 1851 Census shows Levi Yerward a builder, with his wife and two children plus Sarah Webber a Mariner’s wife were living here, all of them came from this area. Some time later Josephs the Baker had another branch here. Glovers Garage was the next to occupy this shop and was followed by a Hardware store. Today 2007 Rehorn entertainment occupies it.
No.25 the early years are yet to be researched, at some stage Eastman’s the Butcher traded from this house, and he was followed by Gordon the Butcher.
No.14 (now) No.24 The Census of 1851 records No.24 as the home of Mr Poyer a Superintendant of Shipwrights and his family occupied this house, his wife Mary had a shop, and as the saying goes, beer and tobacco generally go together the elderly generation in the town bought their tobacco from Miss Poyer’s shop; she had such brands as Red Stamp tobacco which was kept in jars in the window and the snuff was kept in a Bladder or Bleeze. Snuff from Poyer’s bladder and tobacco out of her old Jars seemed to have been a luxury for some folk. We are given to understand that those jars are still in existence (2008), as they were seen in Woodhouse’ tobacco shop, it is not known when Miss Poyer moved. The next family registered here was Mr Walter J.C. Whittaker and Mary his wife, Mary was the daughter of Charles Joseph and there was, for some time a photograph of their shop on display, which came from a printer’s wooden advertising block which was found in the basement of a house in Tremeyrick Street. In 2008 West Wales Properties are trading from here.
Around the turn of the century Wright & Co supplied newspapers and periodicals from their premises on Dimond Street but to date I have failed to find their premises, among their cliental was the Liberal Club on Bush Street and the Mechanics institute at 33 Dimond Street and the Military Messes. He was followed in c1906 by a Manufacturing Confectionary (see picture above).
No.23 the 1851 Census shows William Hawgood who was a Shipwright, with his wife Martha and their four Children who all came from Dale were living here. It is not yet known when Mr Tom Sullivan and his talking parrot moved in, and I am unable to find evidence of his occupation, but we do know that he ran what appeared to be a Pawn shop. Mr Phillip Tallet previously manager of Woolworths and from Manchester traded in Fruit and Vegetables until he retired. Today the Snowdrop Bakery has this shop.
The Temperance Hall (Pater Hall) previously this was No.15, but when the Council renumbered the street in 1906 it was not given a number. Originally built by the Temperance Society in 1845/46, Mr John Hall, an inspector of shipwrights leased the land on which the hall now stands, together with the plot to the west. He planned to build houses on these plots but because of his sympathy with the temperance movement he leased the corner plot to the Society. He also loaned the Society the money to build the hall, where for three pence a year children would be admitted as teetotallers, children who were alcoholics were barred.
Mr Leonard was the caretaker of the Hall when it was bombed in 1941. Following a rebuild it was gifted to the town and in 1957 it was named the Pater Community Hall. In the last quarter of 1990’s the Town Clerk Mr Roland Edwards and Ron Watts Hon. Curator Pembroke Dock Museum rediscovered the original stone which prior to the war was built into the wall at the front entrance, the inscription stated;
As you previously read William Griffiths was the builder hired by the Admiralty to build the first houses in the street, during alterations in the basement during 2007 it appears that part of the building was constructed on a lime quarry.
This picture was handed in by John Rowlands which show three employees of W.T. Rowlands & Son from 53 Queen Street, carrying out some repairs in the Temperance building’s main hall in 1935. From the top are Bill Notting from Carew, Victor Evans from Waterloo and Charles Allen an apprentice from Llanion Cottages
No.22 in the Pigot & Co Commercial Directory for 1817 and Kelly’s Directory for 1901 it shows the Burton Brewery at this address which is next door to the Temperance Hall, the licensee was William Price. In the 1851 Census it records Father Oliver Murphy a Catholic Priest had moved in as did James Rice who was a serving soldier with the Royal Artillery and Lucy the Housekeeper. It is also known that at some stage Miss Maud Jenkins bought it and re-opened it as a Quest House, she was followed by Sheens Fresh Fish. About 1932 Mr George Huxtable opened his butchers shop at this number, stating that is was easy to find because it was opposite the Labour Exchange. He later sold it to make way for the Post Office in 1961.
Sidney Webb a photographer moved to this street in 1880 and by 1881 he was at the Prince of Wales, Laws Street with his wife Ellen and five children. He seems to have retired from photography before 1891.
No.21 the 1851 Census records James Sinnett a 44 year old Shipwright from Dale with his wife Martha and daughter Anne aged one year, living with them was Martha Hodges a farmers wife and Mary Thomas the House Servant. In1861 Lieutenant Andrew Stewart who had married a local girl lived in this house; he was serving with the 101st Royal Bengal (European) Fusiliers which was later re-titled to the Royal Munster Fusiliers.
It would appear that one of ‘Eastmans’ shops managed by Mr Trevor Rees was next to occupy this house, a Furniture shop followed them and it is now (2009) occupied by Rembrandts Jewellery.
No.20 in 1851 Charles Cozens his wife and two children, plus David Perry who was a Coast Guard Officer and Martha his wife lived here. The next record for this house was the 1881 Census which shows William Webb living here; aged 34 and born in Tenby he was an insurance agent, he was married to Amelia and had three children; Augusta aged 9, Minnie aged 7 and Gertrude aged 3. The next to trade here was Mr Brazington a Grocer who was followed by Idris Loyn the Gentlemen’s outfitter. In 1961 it was demolished to build the Post Office.
No.19 in 1851 William Johnston his wife and son lived here, he also had three lodgers, George Rogerson and James Johnston both were apprentices, and 16 year old ‘Lettice’ Rees the Housemaid and Margaret Leigh aged nine. An auction room belonging to William Barr Lawrence appears to be the next occupier, but during the deep depression it became the Labour Exchange, later the exchange moved to the old National School at Victoria Road. No.19 then became a Butcher’s shop kept by Mr J. Thomas & Son and later by Mr Anthony George Tony Huxtable. In 1961 it was demolished to build Woolworths. At the close of 2008 Woolworths has gone into liquidation.
No.18 in 1851 Francis Saunders a Greenwich out-pensioner, his wife and two daughters retired to Pembroke Dock. At some stage Mr Moffat moved to this address, he retailed Devonshire cream from his dairy. Following him was the Dix Brothers who also owned number 16, they converted the building into one and sold Radio’s and Televisions. When Mr Dix retired the Clothing Company ‘NOX’ purchased it and three years later sold up (2008). This is a double front shop (No.16 & 18) but at this time (January 2009) it is reverting back into two shops.
No.17 in 1851 Lieutenant Richard Haward R.N. on half pay lived here, as did Emma aged 12, 22 year old Elizabeth Voyle and Precilla Thomas aged 82. Mr Dunn a Gents Outfitter and a Military tailor to both the Navy and the Army was the next to live and trade from this house. In 1961 it was demolished to build Woolworths. At the close of 2008 Woolworths has gone into liquidation.
No.16 the census for 1851 show this house as empty but at some stage Mrs North of the famous fairground family of that name occupied it. The next recorded occupier was Idris Lloyn who traded in cloths. At some stage Dix Bothers had both shops made into one and carried on selling and repairing Radio’s and Television’s. The Cloths Company ‘NOX’ purchased both No.18 and 16 from where they sold ‘up’ market clothing. This building has changed hands as a double front shop (No.16 & 18) and is presently being converted back to two shops. Work on the conversion started 15th January 2009.
No.15 in 1851 Mr John Hall a 60 year old Shipwright and a lodger Silina Williams lived here. It is not sure when Mr Jim Phillips a Gentleman’s Outfitters moved on but we know James Tracy was trading from here as a Furnishing Ironmongery shop with everything from Kitchen Ware to Garden Seeds. The shop was demolished in the 1930’s and rebuilt as a F.W. Woolworth Store. At the close of 2008 Woolworths has gone into liquidation and closed.
No.14 in 1851 Thomas Beynon a Blacksmith from Stackpole moved in with his wife Elinor who came from Angle and their three children, it also appears that his Brother William was lodging with them. However early in the year of 1851, a census year, the Admiralty decided to move all the Blacksmiths into one area, which released the house for John Poyer, a Superintendent of Shipwrights and his family of three daughters and a son was occupying this house. Meanwhile the Admiralty had moved all the Blacksmiths working in the Dockyard to a new row of houses on the south bank, and once completed the street was named ‘Blacksmiths Row’, sometime later it renamed to Milton Terrace.
No.18 and 19 were demolished in 1957 as a result of Demolition Orders. A new house built across both sites.
No. 25 also had a Demolition Order on it in 1958.
It is quite possible that Mr Fred Tallett who was a Jeweller and watch maker moved into No.14 when John Poyer and family moved on. What we do know is that the Co-Operative group bought the house from Mr Tallett, along with No.12 in 1957 – They later sold the building to an unknown Company who rented to ‘Smallwood’s who dealt in haberdashery. It is presently (2008/9) empty.
No.13 in 1851 John Bolch a joiner and his wife Mary Anne and a lodger named as Eliza Saunders from Barnstable lived in the house. They were followed in 1900 by J. Walter Evans M.P.S. who managed a National Health Service dispensing Toilet Requisites, Cameras, Photographic Developing & Printing plus wines & spirits. It was next occupied in 1926 by W.T. Dunn & Sons (Outfitters) and is now a company called SHOE ZONE.
No.12 built in 1845/ In 1851 Robert Saunders a Pembroke Dock man, was an inspector of Shipwrights, his House Servant was Martha Lewis from Carew. And it is not yet known when Jenkins (nicknamed ‘Jinks’) arrived, he was a Boot & Shoe repairer, he also bred dogs. This shop with No 14 was purchased by the Co-Operative Retail Services Ltd and demolished in 1955. The Co-Operative set its Drapery Department on the site but this was closed in 1998. Smallwood’s traded from here for two years, but in July 2008 it was vacant.
No.11 in 1857 William Lifton a Shipwright from Milford lived here with his wife Anne from Devonport, was he the brother of James Lifton in No.5 Sharing the house was John Gibbon, who was also a Shipwright, with his wife Anne, both were from Milford, William Lifton (was he related to Lifton at No.5!) and his wife Ann lived here. In 1870 Slater’s Directory show it was a pub named ‘Montague’ but it never appeared again, however in 1880 Slater’s listed the Albert Inn occupying this number, was this the same building with a name change! From 1901 Mr David James Joseph held the licence until some time in 1914. At which time it became the Pembroke County Guardian office. Mr Evans had his printing business there and the press room was run by Mr Idwell Howells and Mr Wilford Davies. The 1953 records show Mr. F.O. Jenkins was trading as a Fruiter. He was followed by H.F. Griffiths the Chemist, and later Lloyds Chemist who are presently trading from here.
No.10 in 1851 Mr George Fields a Working Shipwright and his wife Margaret who was a Lodging-house keeper lived in this house, they had a lodger named as William Burdwood who was a Clerk in HM Dockyard, it is not listed when they left. The only Oriental at that time was Yip Bing (Chinese Laundry), in the 1950’s the Monti’s Group purchased the building as an extension to the café. (See No.8) Was sold to Boots the Chemist in 1998 and completely rebuilt as a chemist’s shop.
No.9 in 1851 this was the house of William Charles a Shipwright with his wife and three children. It is not known when Mr Danny Jenkins the Cash & Co the shoe shop moved in but the Pembroke Dock Jewellers moved in when Cask & Co moved to Commercial Row, in 1994 Mr Roberts traded in fashionable menswear and dress wear hire service.
No.8 1851 John Morris from Hubberstone was a Shipwright living here with his wife and 2 children plus a lodger. The next recorded use of this building was Monti’s Café. In the additions of Kelly’s Directory of South Wales from 1914 to 1926 Rabaiotti Brothers are shown as confectioners at No.8 Dimond Street. In the Western Telegraph ‘Then & Now’ articles by Vernon Scott dated 7th & 14th October 1987 Giovanni and Maria Monti are stated to have opened a Café and ice cream parlour in the summer of 1924 at the same address. It was sold to Boots the Chemist in 1998 and completely rebuilt as a chemist’s shop.
No.7 Built in 1851 Alexander Cormack who was a Mariner from Solva lived here with his wife Elizabeth from Llanryan and their three children plus Sarah Griffiths a housemaid from Burton lived here. It is possible that Mr Frazer a draper and outfitter followed on, he was also a lay preacher. Mr Frazer was followed by Collins who arrived from Pembroke Street; he dealt in Radio’s Televisions and Cycles. In 1969 Fine Fare was here where the name changed to Spar who then closed down. It has stood empty for most of 2008.
No.6 Built in 1851 Thomas Blake a Shipwright lived here with his wife and 6 children. Mrs Jenkins may have followed on; she had a Sweet Shop here and was followed by an Optician then ‘Motor World’ car spare parts followed by The Kitchen Ware shop.
No.5 built in 1845/ James Lifton a joiner from Milford and his wife and four children lived here in 1851. Possibly followed by Mr Tomas the butcher and his family, who were followed by Huxtable the Butcher and finally in 1969 Fine Fair/Spar had the shop.
No.4 built in 1845/ in 1851 William F. Williams a Joiner, his wife Sarah and their five Children all lived in this house in that year. In 1901 George Gwyther’s Tailors workshop and dwelling was followed by a firm of opticians. Who in turn were followed by Claxton’s Sweets followed in turn by Woodhouse Tobacconist then, The Coffee Pot café?
No.3 built in 1845/ Mr Isaac Stephens a Shipwright from Ilfracombe was occupying this house in 1851. Mrs Tailor traded in Ironmongery had no connection with Taylor the Ironmongers on Lewis and Bush Street, she was followed by Dorina’s baby wear shop with a flat over, and this was followed by Spec Savers.
No.2 built in 1845/ William Sicome an Inspector of Shipwrights with his wife Rebecca and sons John and George lived here in 1851, both William and Rebecca came from Stoke in Devon, while their sons were born in Pembroke Dock. It appears that the next to occupy this house was Smith & Sons who relocated from Bush Street, now (2008) Clintons Cards.
No.1 built in 1845/ in 1851 William Scourlock, born in Staynton and was a Shipwright in the Dockyard with his wife Elizabeth who was born in Walwyn’s Castle lived here for an unknown period. At some stage the London Provincial Bank took this building, which was followed by Barclays Bank.
The building did not stop there because a few years later it was decided to join up with the houses which were first constructed (Dimond Street) and this road was named;
It was felt that now Her Majesty having come to the Throne, it would be right and proper to remember her with a premier street; therefore as previously mentioned Queen Street West became Cumby Terrace.
William Griffiths was again the building contractor, and he now used Dimond Street as his line for new houses, but there was a problem, because the line for the previous road (Dimond Street) had been taken from the line of the Admiralty houses, and because they were out of line, William Griffiths found himself creating an ‘S’ bend to join the track up, that bend is at the top of Queen Street. With the completion of this street it seals the original track going from the Dockyard to Ferry Lane for all time, with just a little diversion after Hawkestone Road where the ‘track’ curves in towards the railway and has now become known as ‘Bird Cage Walk’ but it still continues to Ferry Lane.
You may also find it a little confusing, in respect of numbering some of the buildings; in essence you will read of some houses numbered in the 50’s and 60’ surrounded by numbers in the 30’s and 20’s, some of them have been demolished either for road widening or to create space, further more Upper Queen Street and East Queen Street was actually two different roads prior to 1906, but in that year the Borough Council renumbered the street.
That said the present day Queen Street began to emerge, and the following will hopefully show who occupied which shop or Inn.
Starting at the west end of the street:
No.1 Lewis the Butcher occupied this corner, later it became a store for Brook Bond Tea, today it is a Dry Cleaners.
No.2 was Edgerton’s Café and Restaurant (was this known as West End Café?): now it is a private house.
No.3 was the Primrose Fish & Chip shop; now it is a private house.
No.5 Tuckers Groceries and Sweets; now it is a private house
No.6 The Commercial Hotel was listed in 1901; the licensee was Miss Alice Maud Smith. During WW2 the Commercial changed its name to the FLYING BOAT as the Sunderland Flying Boats arrived here in 1934 and remained here until 1958, the licensee is presently Lewis G. is and Mrs Sarah J. Edwards.
No.7 Alburys General Store; today it is a private house
No.12 In 1932 T.B. Morris & Co., traded as Grocers, Bakers and Confectioners
No.13 At some time the Provincial Insurance PLC traded from this number.
No.22 Bowen's Stores now long gone, is private housing. See also No.24
No.23 Swan Inn was first published in the Slater Directory of 1870 the Licensee was Walter Griffiths; it was still trading in 1901 when the Licensee was William Evans. Today (2009) the Swan Inn is still trading.
No.24 Bowen's Stores now long gone and is a private house.
No. Possibly the first to trade from this address was a Millinery, following this was a Café then a Fish and Chip Shop; now it is a private house
No.37 In 1932 a Butcher named Roch occupied this number. A café was here for a time, and was followed by a Wool Shop; now a private house.
GABLES: During WW2 this corner was a wartime emergency water supply, in the 1950’s a building of multiple occupations for the disabled was erected, opened on 6th May 1964 by Cllr Frank Carr it was named the ‘Gables’. During the years 2008/9 it has under gone a complete upgrade and is nearly ready to receive new residence.
No.43 the RISING SUN was entered in the Slater Directory for 1870 at which time the Licensee was William Gwyther. During the 1950’s it became and still is a Spiritualist Church.
No.47 & 49 was occupied by Alfred Davies an Undertaker, following him it was used as a Green Grocers Store. When the store was vacated the building was demolished and used as a ‘un-officially’ car park.
No.50 Hopla Shoe Shop for a little while and were followed by, the Salvation Army who used it for a short period, it next became Rossiters Vegetable’s store. This building was demolished when the corner was realigned to widen the road.
No.51 This house was a distribution place for Sunday Papers now a private house.
No.52 In 1908 Mr G. A. Sargent established a Chip Shop, his caption was ‘Open Saturday Mornings 11.30 to 1.30’. At some stage Constance took over; the last company to use this building was Western Arts, following their departure the building reverted back to a house.
No.53 Rowland’s the Decorator traded here, today it is a private house.
No.55 Burton the Butcher traded from here and some time later Scourfield took over. This building was demolished to make way for the GERSHOM CHAPEL which was built by the Calvinistic Methodists and opened on Christmas Day 1838. There was a gallery on three sides of the building and it is said to have held 500 people. It was sold to the Primitive Methodists in 1867/68 when the Calvinists moved to St. Andrew’s Chapel in Bush Street. The Gershom was last used by J.F. (Billy) Phillips as a car repair Garage, when he closed it laid empty; it was later cleared and grassed. To this day (January 2009) it has become a play area for children.
No.57 Caleb James was a Saddler and Harness Maker – he described himself as being able to repair every description of saddles at the shortest notice.
No.65 Caleb James was a cobbler and a saddler, at some stage the Hewitt Bothers had an electrical shop here, at which time the front became a Hair Dressers, today (2005) it is a private house.
No.66 pre 1901 Morris the Baker was here; now a private house.
No.67 pre 1901 Eastman’s the Butchers traded from here followed later by Davinas Clothing, and this was followed by a Cycle Shop. When the Barbers Salon took over, the angle of the door placed the building in Park Street were it is now registered No.18.
No.68 Pre 1901 where Peter Small’s Grocers shop was here. At some time a Photographer from Pembroke worked from here, and in 1973 Mr. Roberts ‘SUIT HIRE’ moved in hiring men’s wear for special occasions. He moved to Laws Street in 1993, and in 2007 it was the Typing Services Business followed by the West Wales Mortgage Centre in 2008.
No.93 B.R. ROSSITER trading in Ladies model wear, Linzi dresses, London Pride Blouses
Suits by Rensor and Peter French plus Skirts and separates etc.
No.75 Margaret Greive’s Sweet Shop
No.69 was pre 1901, now Fecci’s Ice Cream Parlour. At some time the building was revamped and is now a block of flats.
No.27 Alison’s Sweet Shop was followed by G. Evans Greengrocers.
No.22 Lewis the Chemist was followed by a Music Shop. Next it became a Gun Shop, and today (2009) it is a Dog Parlour.
No.24 N. Sutton Milliner – Funeral parlour mourning orders promptly attended to. Now 2008 it is Tiger Lilly Florist.
No.25 Church or Mission occupied this building and it was entered through a pair of ornate iron gates, it was later used as a garage by G. Edwards and later it was taken by Phillips Factors. Today (2009) it is a private house.
No.29 This was an Antique Shop and later it became a Chip Shop. Today (2009) it is a private house
No.71 ROSE and CROWN Public House first appeared in Hunt and Co’s Directory in 1850 the Licensee at that time was Richard Llewhellin, where at one time another Harfat the late Mr. Thomas (for years the bandmaster to the old Pembroke Yeomanry) was mine host, it was formerly a football club rendezvous. Now it has renamed to The Rose and Crown (Harfat is a person from Haverfordwest) Licensee in 2009 is Ceri J. Rowe.
No.26 THE GUN TAVERN was listed in Slater’s Directory for 1870, the licence was held by Simon Thomas. In 1884 Slater’s Directory listed this Tavern at No.5 which was correct when Queen Street was separated i.e. Upper Queen Street and East Queen Street. The name came about when the Infantry handed the security of the Royal Dockyard to the Royal Artillery.
No.26a Pater Jewellery and Silversmith, the Proprietor was Mr. Alec F. Munt who retired in 2006 the premises was put on the Market for sale.
No.87 Canton the Butcher appears to be the first to occupy this building, he was followed by Alan Pork who was also a Butcher. Today (February 2009), now (2007) the Golden Bowl Cantonese & Chinese Take away business operates from here.
PALACE CINEMA is listed in the 1923 Kelly’s Directory, the manager in that year was Tom Barger, his brother Norman lived in a house nearby, and his wife Marian was also listed separately as a retail Confectioner.
During WW2 this building was used as a store, especially alloy from damaged Air craft. After the war it became a cinema followed by a Bingo Hall.
No.30 NUTSHELL est. 1909 Arthur J. Hughes was selling; Printing Paper – Presents - Arms of Pembroke Dock – Gloss China & Fancy Goods from 41/2d up to 5/- . At some stage Vivian Hay bought the shop and extended into the two adjoining houses No.32 and 34 from where a newspaper was printed titled News in a Nutshell, the newspaper stopped in the early 1950’s and that part of the shop closed in the middle of 2008. Vivian Hay was also a County Councillor for many years, and was also a strong supporter the Quinn’s Rugby Team.
No.77 Margaret Blake’s wool shop, this shop has now changed hands (2008) but has kept the name.
No.99 Hunts the Baker were here for many years; is now a Take-away.
No.98 Sears Fresh Fish Shop. In 2005 a company called Perfect PC’s, Computer Engineer, leased this building.
No.97 This was a Fabric Shop and is now a Hairdresser.
No.96 Alan Pork’s butchery at some stage he relocated to Canton’s shop in upper Queen Street. Wren the Barber moved into this building.
No.95 This house was adapted to become a Job Centre, later it became a Charity Cancer Shop.
No.93 Ye Old Swan public house occupied this building, but as yet there is no further information. At some stage it reopened as a Butchers Shop followed by the Yip Bing Laundry who moved here from Dimond Street, it next supported a Chip Shop followed by Mrs Rossiter Dress Shop. At some stage in the 1990’s J.F. (Billy) Philips opened Central Motor Works, retailing goods relating to vehicles.
No.40 South West Associates Insurance & Mortgage consultants. Later moved to No.48 Dimond Street and this shop became a Family Dental Practice.
No.44A SECOND HAND FURNITURE shop
No.46 PEMBROKE POTTERY was sold from here, when it closed in 2004 a Furniture shop opened under the slogan ‘NEW to you FURNITURE’.
No.94 The London Tavern was here prior to 1900 but as yet no further information. At some stage it became the office of the Pembroke Dock Co-Operative Ship Building Company Limited, followed by Gibby’s Sweet Shop. The shop has been bordered up for many years
No.91 Was the Commercial Hotel which renamed to the Royal Edinburgh in memory of the Duke and Duchess of Edinburgh who launched the vessel of that name in March 18th 1882. Apparently it was a cold wet night when the owner Mr. W. B. Price, who was well known as one of the smartest business men in Pembroke Dock, officially opened the doors. It was also noted that many well-known Tenbyites and Honey-Harfats with others assembled to join in the celebrations. In 2005 the building was converted into a ground floor shop with apartments over, a ladies cloths shop and Davinas Restaurant.
The following has yet to find their
Was named after General Charles George Gordon, (1833 – 1885) who at the age of 19½ was a Lieutenant with the Submarine Engineers. He rented No.61 Bush Street prior to receiving his orders to join the troops at Sevastopol.
A little known piece of history surrounds this street, which happened in the period 1925 to 1959. A fishing vessel named ‘Boy Clawed’ lays buried below the tar macadam on the corner at the bottom of the street, this came about when the area was claimed from the sea.
When Richard Allen moved his shipbuilding yard from Water Street in the 1850s the line of the cart track lay between a dock to the north and a building slip to the south. This track became known as ‘The Bridge’ and the name appears to have originated from the way in which the track crossed the dock gates at the entrance to the dry dock. The car park, now known as the Gordon Street Car Park, was referred to in 1966 as ‘The Bridge Car Park’.
The southern part of the car park, close to the DSS Building was Elfords Recycling yard, where periodically a Steam Roller would be used to crush large pieces of metal such as cars etc.
Parfits establishment has a colourful history as the first occupant was Maskel’s Scrap Yard, when he moved on that whole area was allotments, this was followed by Mark Clarks Car Sales, and finally Parffits Carpets moved into what was the car sales warehouse. The railway lines going across the road are all that is left, and was used to move freight to and from the Royal Dockyard, however with the rail lines long gone it has become a haven for collecting rubbish, In February Tidy Towns came to Pembroke Dock to help with a week of cleaning the town, following which the Town Council began to claim the area with a view of grassing the area.
No.1 Globe Public House - Formerly known as the Albion it is one of the first Public Houses to be built in the Town. Apparently it was built in 1815 on the north western corner of Middle Street (King Street) and closed prior to WW II. It was demolished in 1948.
I understand that the Council’s foreman and the steam roller driver could be found there on Friday afternoons after they had been paid. The foreman’s wife is said to have often chased her husband home to Prospect Place with her umbrella if he stayed too long in the pub!
Nos. 3 to 55 (odd numbers) King Street North Side All these houses were demolished as the result of clearance area procedures from 1960 onwards. Number 55 on the corner of Gravel Lane was at one time the Forester’s Arms Public House.
Nos. 2 and 10 - These were two storied houses and were damaged in an air raid. They were demolished before 1945.
No 10A - Number 10A is reputed to have been a public house called the Old Lion, and afterwards a bakery and shop. It is said to have been burned down when it was a bakery. It was a cleared site by 1953 and was purchased as part of the Clearance Area.
Nos. 4, 6, and 8 - These houses formed Clearance Area No. 12 in 1957 and were purchased by the Borough Council for demolition and redevelopment.
Nos. to 12 to 22 (even Nos.) - These formed Clearance Area No. 18 and were demolished c1967.
No. 24 - This single fronted, two storied house was the subject of a demolition order in 1957 and was purchased by the Council for demolition.
Nos. 26 to 48 – These houses on the south side of the street were all demolished as a result of clearance area procedures. They were demolished in the late 1960s.
KING STREET EAST
No. 50 – This house is believed to have been damaged in an air raid and was demolished before 1953.
No. 52 - This house is believed to have been damaged in an air raid and was demolished before 1953.
No. 54 - -This was a detached three storied house on the south side of the street. It was damaged during W.W.II and was left to become derelict. A Demolition Order was made in the 1950s and it was purchased by the Council for clearance.
Nos. 56, 58, 60 and 60A - These were Clearance Area No. 16 in 1958. They were purchased by the Council and demolished as part of the general redevelopment of the area. Number 60A was already a ruin.
No. 62 – A demolition order was made on this house in November 1957. It was not demolished but used in connection with a radio and television business in Queen Street. In 1939 it was occupied by John Cook and his wife Elizabeth.
No. 64 – This house was subject to a demolition order. It was a two storied detached house which was not demolished but had the upper storey removed and the ground floor turned into a garage. In 1939 it was occupied by Edward Arthur Cook and Alice Mary White.
Slaughterhouse - This privately owned Slaughterhouse was licensed in 1883 and was operated by Mr W. James & Son who also had a butcher’s shop at 30 Dimond Street. It was a small slaughterhouse with lairage for four cattle, two calves, ten sheep and ten pigs. The slaughterhouse was situated on the north side of the street adjoining a small quarry. The quarry, which is shown on the 1772 Bush Estate map, later became a builder's yard. The remaining buildings were demolished during the construction of Western Way.
In 1906 the Borough Council decided that this street would be numbered as part of King Street.
Named after T.C. Meyrick
Meyrick Street was laid in 1906, and for the first time the Borough Council decided to start renaming all the streets which were previously known as Upper or Lower and North or South.
Meyrick Street like so many streets in Pembroke Dock hosted an unbelievable number of Public Houses, with most of them not registering with Pigot & Co Commercial Directory - Robson Commercial - Hunt & Co Directory & Topography - Slater’s Directory and Slater’s Royal National Commercial Directory or Kelly’s South Wales Directory. All of which makes it very difficult to accurately identify where in the street were they.
I further note that the Admiralty designed the width of Meyrick Street in order to accommodate two horse teams to manoeuvre side by side, today this street could still accommodate that.
GIBBY’s YARD was at the bottom of the street, this yard occupied the site of a building slip which was part of S. R. Allen’s shipbuilding yard (Richard Allen and Son). In 1873 the Pembroke Dock Co-operative Shipbuilding Company was formed and took over the yard. This yard lasted until 1879 when the company went bankrupt and the building slip was filled in. It then became the yard of Gibby and Co. who were wheelwrights. (The walls of this building slip are still underground and was exposed for a while when the St. Govan’s Centre was being built.)
THE GRAND CINEMA Co Ltd. was built in 1914, the manager at that time was Henry Claypole, and it was built on the site of Gibby’s yard where it remained for sixty years until it closed in 1974. The building was corrugated iron on a timber frame except for the façade which was of rendered brickwork, and was demolished in the early 1980s and has been replaced by the St. Govan’s Centre.
PEMBROKE PRINTING, trade from a building which was previously used as a BANANA WARE HOUSE.
WEIGH BRIDGE. This was on the west side of lower Meyrick Street and complete with an office where Mr Walsh would operate the Bridge, a public toilet was at the other end of the building. Today 2009 two small shops now trade from the offices and the weigh bridge and toilets haave long disappeared.
NAAFI. Navy Army Air Force Institute was on the south side of the railway for a very short period – Mr Phillips JP had his shop here, today it is occupied by Dorina’s ladies wear, which was previously at No.65 Dimond Street.
No.1 the Queens Hotel was first mentioned in Kelly’s Directory in 1891, the licensee at that time was William Nail and was last mentioned in 1914; however it did not close at that time it just declined to register. I certainly remember it being open in 1968 but on my returned in 1980 it was a toy shop and later a Solicitor’s office.
No.2 County Council offices
No.4 this was a double shop with RACHEL’s FLORIST – WEDDINGS & FUNERALS speciality. In 2008 it was a JEWELLERY shop and in studio 4a was HAIR CARE and MANICURES.
No.11 During WW2 this building was HUNTS CAFÉ, which was owned by Mrs Phelps daughter of HUNTS BAKERY, which in turn was managed by Mrs O’Mara who lived in Lewis Street. Some time later J & E Mcgroary who specialised in LADIES and MEN’s SHOES took this building, today (2009) it is Parry Shoes.
No.12 PRINCE of WALES (the third Inn by that name in the town) At some period Mathias-Thomas and Lewis which incorporated Meyrick Owen and Company.
No.10 The MIDLAND BANK sat between the two pubs but closed down in c1980’s. Shortly after, the Citizens Advice Bureaux took over the upper floors, while the Communities First took the ground floor rooms.
No.13 the IMPERIAL HOTEL was at this number, it was first mentioned in Kelly’s Directory for 1914, but as explained earlier a great many Hotels and Public Houses did not register. The next occupant was:
When this closed a SPORTS TIME shop was opened by Mike and Pat, and when they moved on it became an ELECTRICAL SHOP.
The FREE ZION CHURCH
No.8 This building is in two parts, in one is Safe Haven Domiciliary Ltd and in the other part is Safe Haven Training Ltd
No.14? The Pembroke Dock Journal produced every Thursday for 1d latterly the office of the WESTERN TELEGRAPH
No.19 and 23 was the MEYRICK STORES managed by D.C. Davies this was a high class grocery. Today this shop has reverted back to two shops, where No.19 now has become a USA Chicken out let. Next to that is No.23 which is now an Oriental Kitchen.
No.25 Pugh the Option
No.27 Is a shop named ‘Total Image’
No.21 Mr Chips this is Browns fish and chips restaurant with snack bar
No.29 In 1938 F.W. Herriman a Solicitor occupied this building
No. BRIDAL COLLECTIONS One stop shop for any weddings
No.34 MILITERIA buttons and badges etc.
No.31a The LAMB AND FLAG public house was trading from here, but it was never mentioned in the Directories. Following its closure POST OFFICE and SORTING OFFICE, where today the sorting office is now the Rectory and the ‘Post Office’ is the accommodation.
No. Fenton Factors a car care outlet closed down in the late 1990’s. The shop laid empty a long period, when Pembroke Angling moved in.
No.37 John Lloyd for Painting, Paperhanging and House Decorator
No.38 PEMBROKESHIRE ARMS traded here between 1880-1891, the first Licensee was Mrs Charlotte Brooman and in 1926 it was Daniel James. This was followed by a General Store, (Some say it was perhaps the first ‘Wellworth’ Store) it was run by the Howard family who also ran a business on the corner of Bush and Lewis Street. At one time a large brown sign was painted on the Lewis Street wall stating he was the largest leather dealer in West Wales, after WW2 he took a shop on Military Road Pennar and opened a Grocery shop. The next occupant was the West Wales Guardian news paper Office. In 2005 this building reopened as the Citizen’s Advice Bureaux.
BETHEL CHAPEL It is said that this Chapel was built following a falling-out with the parent Bethany Chapel, right or wrong it brightens Meyrick Street up with its design and beauty.
THE BRITISH SCHOOL was opened in 1848 for both boys and girls. It was built end on to the road and had separate playgrounds, following the passing of the Education Act 1870, it became a Board School in 1872. The School Board pursued the very enlightened policy of providing more schools and on the 20th December 1877 Albion Square School was opened. The junior and senior boys were then transferred from Meyrick Street to Albion Square and the old British School became the Public Elementary School for Infants and Girls. The Headmistress was Mary Anne Edwards and the Pupil Teacher was Myra A. Rowe. There were 66 pupils in 1877 but this had risen to 188 by April 1879 and to 317 by 1886. The British School was demolished in 1901, and the council purchased the house adjoining the North side, which was formally No.4, to form part of a new school which was thennamed the Coronation School.
Above is a photo of school girls coming up from the Coronation School to join the 1919 Victory parade and celebrations in Albion Square, under the watchful eye of the Head Teacher Miss Griffiths.
In later years the school adopted a ‘Code of Honour, which read ‘PLAY THE GAME WHATEVER YOU DO – DO THE RIGHT BECAUSE IT IS RIGHT – DO YOUR DUTY AT ANY COST – KEEP YOUR WORD ONCE GIVEN – ABHOR MEAN ACTIONS – HELP THE WEAK AND THOSE THAT ARE DOWN.
No.69 TALBOT TAVERN was next door to Trinity Chapel and Mr John Evans held the license, the tavern appears in Slater’s Royal National Commercial Directory for 1880/84.
It is thought that the Talbot changed its name to the SOLDIERS RETURN INN and in 1870 changed again to become the BLENHEIM, after a well-known ‘Guardship’ in the Haven. This building in now a private house.
No.195 In 1861 Major Henry E. R. Burnside, his wife and three sons, commander of the 101st Royal Bengal (European) later to become the Royal Munster Fusiliers
PESTLE and MORTAR was on the corner of Meyrick Street and Prospect Place, it appeared in the 1891 Kelly’s Directory, it was owned by Mr. Leans the chemist and the Licensee was William Lane. At some stage it changed its name, the first thought was to name it the ‘Dives’ however it eventually renamed ‘Imperial’, but it was never mentioned in Kelly’s, Slater’s or Pigot’s Directory.
Was Water Street really named after a water pump or was it because the sea came over the road on high tides?
Fortland House previously named the ‘Three Lamps’ was built by Mr Hussey in the period 1836/38, and for some reason the house shared the same address as the Pier Hotel. During WW2 this building along with the Pier and the Criterion Hotel were bombed, but unlike the Hotels Fortland house was rebuilt, see the original house on page 42
As we know the building on the round-about of London Road and Western Way is the original water pump and building which received water from Rosebush and pumped it into the town for the first time on August 1st 1899.
Note the picture where the wall at the front of the Pump House slopes from about two feet high to about six foot as the troops march up Water Street.
No.1 The CRITERION HOTEL was first mentioned in Kelly’s Directory in 1891 as a Tavern, the licensee was Mrs Margaret Price, it stood on the South East corner of London Road and Water Street. Previously named the ‘Bombay Hotel’ it was also known locally as the Round House, it was demolished on the 12th May 1941 by German bombers. Tucked in beside the Hotel was Mr Harvey Folland a Blacksmith next to him was a Boat Repair Yard both of which were damaged.
TREMEYRICK STREET formally Bachelor's Row - It is alleged that two bachelors, John Hall and Captain James Cocks built the street (Refer to Mrs. Peters book). In 1861 number ten was a Public house called ‘The Setting Sun’, however should this be the case it was never recorded under Taverns, Hotels or Public Houses.
While we are on this corner we cannot dismiss the BIERSPOOL FARMHOUSE and DOVECOTE. The piece of land on which the farmhouse was built was formerly known as
Bayard's Pool (1772 Bush Estate map) and earlier as Bernard's Pool. The original building date is not known but it was in existence in the early 1600s when it may have been owned or occupied by the Bennett family. This family are said to have also owned Merian and lived in a ‘decaiyed house at Monston’ (?Monkton or Moreston).
It is shown in the 1786 Land Tax as Buyerspool with the owner as J.G. Meyrick and in the 1791/92 Land Tax the owner is shown as J. F. Meyrick and the tenant as Mr William Roberts. On the 1772 Bush Estate map it is shown as belonging to Bush and it is probable that it formed part of the land ‘purchased’ by Bush Estate from William Adams in 1704.
By 1815 it was occupied by a Mr Samuel Dawkins who met General Sir Thomas Picton on his recruiting drive in South Pembrokeshire. Picton was killed the same year at Waterloo and the East Llanion area was, ‘by common consent’, named Waterloo. Bierspool farmhouse was a ‘T’ shaped building which had been added to over the years. The farm included a dove-cote in the yard, a grinding machine for animal foods operated by a circular horse windlass on the west side of the house (1861 map) and the usual barns, carthouses, stables and piggeries. There was a pond in the farmyard and an orchard on the North west side of the house.
After Mr Dawkins came Mr Joseph Gibby, who was a farmer and haulier his son, Mr Joseph Edward Gibby, OBE, JP. DL. of Upton Farm was also a farmer and haulier and was the tenant when the farm was purchased by the Local Authority c1950. He was Sheriff of the County in 1957, a Fellow of the Royal Agricultural Society, President of the Royal, Welsh Agricultural Society and President of the British Friesian Cattle Society. His coat of arms had the motto ‘In God is my strength’.
The last occupiers of Bierspool appear to be Mr and Mrs H. Jefferies who were tenants of Mr Gibby.
To the South East of the farm complex was a large quarry and from this a track led to the eastern end of Hawkestone Road at the bottom of Gwyther Street (1864 O.S. map). The farmhouse was sited to the west of what is now the entrance road to the Bierspool commercial site (Tesco’s car park) and this road appears to be on the line of the original entrance to the farm. All buildings on the site were demolished in the 1970s.
BIERSPOOL TOLLHOUSE and TOLLGATE (Turnpike Gatehouse) Built c1832 and situated to the east of the junction of London Road and King William Street. It consisted of a house with a basement and large kitchen garden. The Toll gates were across the road with a separate gate on the southern side for pedestrians. There was also a street lamp outside the toll house (1861 1/500 OS map). The toll collector in 1881 was Joseph Gardner who lived there with his wife Elizabeth. The gate was removed in 1899 and houses now cover the site of the toll house and garden (45 to 53 London Road). I have not seen any drawings or photographs of the toll gate or house but there were supposed to be some engravings in the Pier Hotel. These were probably destroyed when the premises were demolished by a German land mine in 1941.
Let us now continue along Water Street:
THE DUMFRIES Public House opened in 1901 but shortly after became a ‘soldiers and sailors’ home kept by Marie E. Law who was the widow of a former drill instructor of the Pembrokeshire Royal Artillery Volunteers, the male members of the Law family were all in the Armed Forces during WW1. When Madam Law sold up it became a Young Men’s Christian Association (YMCA) which some time later gave way to the Pembroke Dock Steam Laundry Company. And on the same sight in 1957 work began on a new Police Station on this site.
Squibb’s Photography Studio was built in 1921/1922 by Arthur Squibb’s and was situated on the western side of Water Street (almost opposite the present Police Station). It was set on fire by incendiary bombs during an air raid on 12th May 1941 and later demolished.
HYGIENIC STEAM BAKERY owned by Fred Rogers it closed and was demolished to make way for a car park for K’s Kitchen)
K’s KITCHEN stands on the corner of Water Street and King William Street. In the last quarter of 2008 its name changed to MARIE’s.
The Lane beside K’s has an interesting past:
Nos. 1 to 11 - These houses were built towards the end of the nineteenth century and were bought by the Gas Board in 1953 for the purpose of extending their operation. They were never used for this purpose. The houses in this street were badly damaged in an air raid on the 12th May 1941 when the Gas Works received a direct hit. Numbers 1, 2, 10 and 11 had to be demolished and the remainder were repaired. Numbers 3 to 9 were the subject of Clearance Area procedure and the Borough Council purchased them for demolition. They were retained for temporary housing accommodation until final demolition in the 1970s.
These were a row of four single storied cottages situated between the King William Street houses and the railway line. They ran in a north / south direction along the western boundary wall of the site. The date of building is not known but it was after 1863. They are shown on a map dated 1902 and were occupied in the 1930s but are not shown in the 1939 Electoral Register. During W.W.II they became derelict and roofless and were finally cleared in the 1970s.
Gas Company Stores These occupied the whole of the eastern end of the street and were demolished in the 1970s.
Back now to Water Street:
ELFORD's SAWMILLS - These were situated behind Water Street on the south side of the lane leading from Water Street to Lower Meyrick Street. Elford also owned a Timber Yard and this was opposite on the north side of the lane. The sawmills are first mentioned in the 1891 Kelly’s trade directory and are listed as ‘Elford Brothers, timber importers, slate, brick and tile merchants, Water Street Sawmills’ and seem to have existed until about 1914. In 1902, they are shown as steam sawmills and a boiler house is shown on the west side of the mill. In 1942 they were sold to Messrs Hancock and used again as sawmills until they were demolished and the Co-operative Food Hall built on the site c1966. This has now been demolished and the site is used as a car park
No.15-19 HEATHCOTE HOUSE was the home for the Silcox Family and the office for their bus company which was created in 1882, and it is still a residential building; they also had a Cycle shop trading as the cheapest & best house in Pembroke-shire for cycles and saddlers the shops for this was in No.15 to 19, which today (2009) are private houses. They also used an ‘Overland Van’, number plate DE4940 for the delivery and collection of Laundry for the Pembroke Dock Laundry Company, where the Police Station now stands. (Note the way which Pembrokeshire was written)
? CP MOVERS a new company that started in 2009, they deliver for retailers and/or house moving
EMBASSY SNOOKER HALL following its closure in1999 it became KIM’s GYM. Recently (2006) part of the building became a car spares shop (21A) named SYNCRO.
No.20 In1969 records show that J.A. Meyrick Owen Esq. traded from this number.
No.28 CHERITON HOUSE Mr Goriah, a native of Mauritius and was a wireless operator serving with the RAF in WW2, set up a Dental Practice on demob. After his death his widow sold up and moved to Cosheston. The building was refurbished as flats in 2000.
No.30 A. F. GRIEVE was registered in 1953 trading as a Monument Sculptor and complete funeral furnisher Memorials in granite and stone. (2008 Private house)
WAVERLY HOTEL, Elders of the Town spoke of the Waverly Hotel but to date no evidence of this has been found. However there is a house which many of the towns elder say was the Waverly. Today it is a private house, but it still has a large stable. Was this formally known as the Coach and Horses? Which was said to be on Water Street, but like a thousand other pieces of the town’s history it is (as yet) hidden.
No.37 was the office of Frank Owen and his company ‘Incorporation Estate Agent’ his slogan was: “Meet me by daylight” to discuss “You’re house purchase problems”, following his death the building reverted to a town house.
No.39 Brown & Co. Undertakers, Funerals Completely Furnished and General Repairs executed complete with picture frames made to order.
ALEXANDRIA was built about 1869 and up to 1884 it was shown in Dimond Street. However in Kelly’s Directory for 1891 it shows it to be in Water Street, where it remained until 1914 on the occasion of its name change to Alexandria Vaults. The reason for this is the use of the door, where in its early days the door on Dimond Street was in use and from 1891 to 2006 the Public door was on Water Street. Today (2008) it has apartments with a shop on the ground floor looking onto Dimond Street
No.17 the STAR public house appeared for the first and last time in the 1870 Slater’s Directory. However the Slater’s Royal National Commercial Directory for 1884 was showing the Star at No.17 Water Street. When in the period 1884 to 1891 the Borough Council renumbered the street from the opposite direction to what it was, therefore in Kelly’s Directory for 1891 it shows the Star Inn to be at No.41. Mr Samuel Frise was the licensee from 1880 to 1901.
This street is named after Mr. Edwards Laws, who was a Clerk of the Cheque in the Royal Dockyard (see Pembroke People by Richard Rose Page 94). He raised £50 to purchase the ground where St Johns Church stands today; he was also one of the executors of Thomas Meyrick of Bush. Edward Laws died on 2nd January 1854 and was buried in the catacombs at Kensal Green Cemetery London.
Pater Ward was created 1835. And Council Meetings were first held in Pembroke Dock on November 18th 1874. The first mayor selected from Pater was Mr. Edward Laws. Therefore it was fitting to name the new road Law Street.
In 1906 the Borough Council decided that Laws Street North and Law Street South would become one street called Laws Street and would be numbered consecutively from end to end.
No.1 the PRINCE OF WALES HOTEL was recorded in Slater’s Directory in 1870, the Licensee was H.P. George, and in 1884 the licence was held by Sydney Webb who was also a local photographer. The Hotel was closed in 2008 and is still on the market.
No.3 is the LA BRASSEUA Restaurant.
No.5 this was occupied by a cobbler of the Rowe Family, the family later stopped the boot and shoe business to set up a pet shop in the same building, by 2006 it was a private house.
No.6 In 1861 Charles Brady aged 36 of the 101st Royal Bengal (European) Fusiliers in 1881 they renamed to the Royal Munster Fusiliers. W. J. EVANS - High-Class Groceries and Provisions - Cooked Ham was his speciality, at some stage R.M. Collins bought this property and combined No.6 and 8 into one unit from which they traded in Men’s and School Wear for Boys & Girls.
No.7 In 1861 Mich' McNamosa aged 36 of the 101st Royal Bengal (European) Fusiliers, in 1881 they renamed to the Royal Munster Fusiliers. Mr Owen retailing cloths and other materials of all colours, at some stage he moved to Upper Queen Street, he was also a member of the town council. A LAUNDRETTE bought the building complete with flat over.
No.8 JOHN H. TEE (The individual outfitter) (Opposite the Bus Stop as it was before the zebra crossing) the best for School Outfit, Fully Lined Blazers, Morley “Repton” Shirts, Pleton Caps and Ties, Scarves and Sports Kit. He was followed in 1971 by R.M. Collins retailing Men’s Wear plus School Wear for Boys & Girls.
No.11 SWIFTS CYCLE SHOP was trading in Motor Cycle Accessories complete with tyres and tubes. They were also Agents for: Excelsior Scooters & Motor Cycles which included the Coventry-Eagle Falcon & Elswick Hopper Cycles, repairs swiftly and efficiently executed.
No.19 was acquired in 1993 by Mr Roberts who is an agent for hired clothing such as weddings or other functions.
No.21 Bissmire & Fudge Solicitors which closed in 2008, the building has now been adapted to flats.
No.23 is a Fish & Chip restaurant with Flat over.
No.28 In 1861 Samual Burchell aged 39 serving with the 101st Royal Bengal (European) Fusiliers, in 1881 they renamed to the Royal Munster Fusiliers.
No.30 In 1861 Private Patrick Collins aged 35 serving with the101st Royal Bengal (European) Fusiliers, in 1881 they renamed to the Royal Munster Fusiliers.
No’s.31 to 41 (odd numbers only). These two storied houses dating from the 1860s were destroyed or badly damaged in an air raid on 12th May 1941. Listed are those who lost their lives were:-
No.31 Mr Alexander McKenzie aged 18. Who was the son of John Knox McKenzie, (HM Forces). Mrs Lily Elizabeth McKenzie aged 45. Wife of John Knox McKenzie, Master Cyril McKenzie aged 13. Son of John Knox McKenzie, (HM Forces), Mr John Henry Thomas aged 49.
No.33 Mrs Elizabeth Hutchings aged 72. Widow of William Henry Hutchings,
No.35 Mr John Frederick Harries aged 63. Mrs Emily Jane Harries aged 68. Mrs Hannah Maria Beatrice Hammerton aged 32, Widow of Robert Edward Holden Hammerton.
No. 37 Mr Thomas Evans aged 74. Mrs Agnes Gwyn Dolene Evans aged 43.
No.39 Mr Harry Howard Rixon Reynolds aged 71. The son of Dr Howard David Reynolds, and Mrs Elizabeth Reynolds aged 63.
No.41 the THREE CROWNS public house first appeared in Slater’s Directory in 1870, and the Licensee was Sarah Scurlock. In 1914 the licensee was William H. Canton. The day the bombs dropped on the town Mr John Alfred Bowen was the Licensee and following the air raid he was listed as being killed; however he was injured not dead and recovered to re-establish the Three Crowns on the west side of the street. Sadly he died 1st May 1945 at the County Hospital, Haverfordwest. The houses on the west side were also severely damaged but it appears that there were no casualties. These houses were later classed as a total loss by the War Damage Commission. The remains of the buildings on both sides of the street were cleared and 20 one bedroom and 4 two bedroom flats were built on the sites in 1955.
No.42 the THREE CROWNS public house was rebuilt on the other side of the road. The date of the photograph on page 45 is unknown; however we do know that it before the end of April 1945, because as you have already read John Bowen died on May 1st 1945.
On the reverse is written ‘From left to right Mr Leonard - caretaker of the Temperance Hall, Alderman G.E. Manning, Jim (Spot) Morgan - Estate Agent, George Huxtable and Mr Alf Bowen of the Three Crowns.
No.46 In 1861 Patrick Burke aged 29 of the101st Royal Bengal (European) Fusiliers, in 1881 they renamed to the Royal Munster Fusiliers.
No.49-50 combined to become a Doctors Surgery, but in 2008 it was sold to developers
No.51 ‘OWEN HIRE’ Omnibus and Carriage Proprietor - Hearse & Mourning Carriages & Mail contractor at some stage Mr B Edwards took over and he then hired Mr Bailey, Eventually the Arch way into the rear of the property was blocked up and a Doctors Surgery moved in. Up to the third quarter of 2008 the built up pavement into the arch was still in place. In that same quarter the building was sold to developers,
BUSH HOTEL VAULTS which was for the first time listed in Slater’s Directory; in 1870 the licensee was H.P. George. It may not be generally known that Captain Rpbert Falcon Scott RN served on HMS Amphion 1887-88, the Empress of India and HMS Essex in 1908 all of which were built at Pembroke Dock. One afternoon the then Prime Minister (1894-5) Lord Rosebery with Admiral H.R.H. Prince Louis of Battenberg RN called at the Bush Hotel and were later observed walking in Pembroke Street, the noble Prince playfully striking a hoarding at the north end of the Market House. His Lordship smilingly turned round and pointed to the Navy Tavern and White Hart. The Bush Hotel has been converted to apartments.
No.71 In 1861 Patrick Cain aged 40 serving with the 101st Royal Bengal (European) Fusiliers who renamed in 1881 to the Royal Munster Fusiliers.
No.77 In 1858 the 15th Depot Battalion arrived from Buttevant in Ireland, at this time Laws Street was found to be a very sober and very quiet street to live in, which was possibly due to the chaplain of HM Forces in Wales, the Reverend Roland Charles Roberts’ lived at this address. He died on 6th May 1900 and his memory is kept alive today by a plaque in Bethel Chapel, Meyrick Street. In 1861 Lt. Col. P. Nesbitt aged 55 of the 101st Royal Bengal (European) Fusiliers, which in 1881 renamed to the Royal Munster Fusiliers.
No 78 In 1861 John Dunn aged 32 of the 101st Royal Bengal (European) Fusiliers. Which in 1881 renamed to the Royal Munster Fusiliers?
No.96 In 1861 Quartermaster Samuel Blair from Sussex lived here in 1858. He was serving with the 2nd (Pembroke Dock) Depot Battalion.
Pig's Parade - According to George Mason and Mrs Peters this was located at the western end of Bush Street where there were (according to Mason) ‘dove cots, such as those of Pigs’ Parade-part of Bush Street, the site now being occupied by splendid shops. In those cots a man could almost put his arm through the chimney and open the front door’. However, the 1863 map shows no houses between Park Street and Albion Square on either side of the Street. As this was undeveloped land, it is quite likely that pigs were kept there.
A major part of Bush Street was built between 1902 and 1907, and a great many house’s suffered either damage or total destruction during World War Two. In the distance the tree wish stands close to St John’s Church stands.
We start at the west end before the street was realigned:
A Bake House which was owned by Mr Rees was on the south side of the street behind Rees’ house/shop which was in Charlton Place, but his gate was on Bush Street.
No.3 On the other side of the road was Doney’s Tuck Shop which was next to a Children’s Clothes shop. Today March 31st 2009 this building is used by DOCTOR BARNARDO’s.
No.5 James Howell went into partnership with David Jenkins in the early 1860s, and set up a Drapers outlet and in 1861 they set up shop at No.5. . By 1891 David Jenkins had moved the shop to 19 Bush Street and by 1901 he had retired.
Directly opposite was the Bush Estate Services where residence could pay their rent etc, entre to this office was the same gate used by Rees. The MASONIC LODGE was on the east side of Estate Services.
No. 69 This was a two storied house and shop with an arched vehicular access to the yard at the rear. In 1939 it was occupied by Edith Thomas and after the Second World War by Mr Geoff. Hewitt (trading as Hewitt Brothers) were electrical contractors and selling electrical goods from the shop. After his death, the premises were sold. They were demolished in the late 1990s and the present building constructed on the site.
Nos. 58, 60 and 62 (Old Borough Stores) these were badly damaged during an air raid in September 1940 and were classified as a total loss. They were demolished and rebuilt in the 1950s as shops and flats to the original design. In the 1940s, the owners were the Pembroke Dock Co-operative Society.
The afore mentioned buildings were numbered from east to west in 1906/7 the Borough Council decided to reverse them to run west to east.
CRESSWELL BUILDINGS. This block of buildings was erected c1904 and was in four parts, the
STAR SUPPLY STORES had a food store, which at some stage Mr Bond was the Manager. Which later became a PIZZA SHOP?
The other part of the building was leased by A.J. ALLEN having re-located from No.23 Dimond Street, here he had a shop retailing Stationery plus Toys - Meccano and Hobbies plus a dealer for; Airfix – Revell – Merit – and Aurora Plastic Kits. While on the first floor he had a photography studio. At some stage thought to be in the 1960’s S.J. Allen moved out and Mr KINTON retailing children’s clothing move in. And finally Idris Evans the fruiter had his shop on the east side on the building. At some point the building became vacant and gave way to apartments.
No.9 this was a China Shop, and when that closed EVANS the BUTCHER took the building. When he passed away his wife Margaret remained in the flat above until 2007.
No.4 and No.8 Mr E.A. TRAVERS was retailing Boots and Shoes, and when he closed a vet took over.
During WW2 this building was the BRITISH RESTURANT in the late forties early fifties the LIBERAL CLUB used the building - the Pembroke Dock Museum has a memorial book produced by the Club.
No.14 Mr William Henry Kinton aged 71 and his wife Catherine Emily Kinton aged 74 who sold pet food, both were killed during the bombing. Following the end of the war the bomb damage of this building was repaired following which W. G. HARRIES & SONS took it and ran a high class Grocers and Provision shop here.
No.15 in 1917 Mr J.P. PHILLIPS had a Grocers shop, the museum has photo’s of his shop front.
No.16 in the 1930s this shop was owned by Mrs. Edith A. Dew.
No. 12, 14 and 16 - These houses were built between 1902 and 1907 but were partly demolished in the air raid on the 6th November 1940. At number 14, Mr William Henry Kinton aged 71 and his wife Catherine Emily Kinton aged 74 both lost their lives together with a young airman who was staying with them. At number 16, Mrs Maude Harvey B.A. aged 33, lost her life but her husband, Dr T.B.W. Harvey and their young child survived. After the War, the houses and shops were rebuilt to substantially the same design. When No.14 was rebuilt an undertaker moved in.
No’s 17, 18, 19 and 21 was DYFFRYN HOUSE owned by F. DAVIES & CO, whose slogan ‘We have a lovely range of blouses from the best makers’. Mr H. Hall occupied No.18 and he had a News Agents shop.
No.22 is the building on the south east corner of Bush and Park Street where J. GRIFFITHS sold High-Class Grocery and Provisions. This building at some stage succumbed to flats.
While we are at the entrance of Park Street, formally named North Back Cottages - we must highlight the Infirmary which was established in Park Street North, the Pembroke Dock Museum has three Reports dated 1922 which was printed by R, Ward – Davies Main Street Pembroke, the other two covered 1923 and 1925 and these were published by the “Telegraph and Times” at their Printing Office on Main Street Pembroke. At some point this hospital had a name change, and as a result it became the Meyrick Hospital, the Museum has one Annual Report for the Meyrick Hospital dated 1947, and this was printed in the “Guardian” Office at Pembroke Dock.
Moving back now to Bush Street:
No.23 Rees the Coke and Coal retailer had his office here; he also hired out Skips, now it is a private house
No.24 Old Inns and Reminiscences of Pembroke Dock by H.H.R. Reynolds states that the CHARLTON HOTEL was previously known as the GROUND LANDLORD and was a cottage and printers shop prior to that. This is quite feasible because it is known that it changed its name following the death of Thomas Charlton’s mother in 1858, Thomas Charlton inherited Apley Castle in Shropshire and on doing so he adopted his mother’s maiden name which was ‘Meyrick’. (See, Apley Terrace & Charlton Place). The Charlton first appeared in Slater’s Directory in 1870, and the licensee was at that time Mary Hancock who held the license for thirty years.
Should you from here turn south into Upper Park Street you would see the remains of a burial ground, where once stood a small, badly arranged, altar-less chapel, where occasional services were held. The priest, who came to attend to a funeral, was prepared to baptize any children who were then brought to him, and many, still living, received the sacrament of holy Baptism under such circumstances. The font, if there ever was one, has disappeared.
The first burial in this cemetery was that of William Instance or Eustance, who was buried on Oct. 11th, 1834. A stone which recorded this fact has been broken beyond repair. At the south-west corner of the chapel, a high railing encloses two graves: one is that of an infant son of Capt. Ramsay, R.N., afterwards Lord Dalhousie, the other which was surmounted by a tomb bore the following inscription;
Cumby was lieutenant of the Bellerophon at the battle of Trafalgar. The 'approbation of his country' has allowed his last resting-place to be forgotten and neglected! The year which witnessed the consecration of this burial-ground witnessed also the opening of the Dockyard Chapel.
Return now to Bush Street and walk into Park Street North and you would come to Frank Cawley’s specialist car repair garage; he learnt his trade while serving in the Army. (Pembroke Dock Museum has a feature on him)
Mean while back in Bush Street;
No.26 In 1881 Samuel John Allen a Photographer worked from here, but sometime before 1914 he had moved into the Cresswell Building
No.34 Sweet Shop now a private house
No.43 Prior to WW2 a Wellworth shop, known locally as the 3d and 6d shop was trading here, at some stage Mr Lawrence had a Grocery shop here. Today (2005) the Citizens Advice Bureau operate from here.
No.44 the Wales Gas Board office and showroom.
No.45A Was a fish shop and now (2006) is a private house
No.47 Arthur Llewellyn Williams opened a Chemist at this address, one day an early car, either due to a steering failure or perhaps poor driving, mounted the pavement and ploughed into the shop window. The building in the back ground is in Meyrick Street. This building was used by Darrel Griffiths a plumber where he stored his equipment, he sold it early in 2009 and it is now occupied by a Housing Least Company.
The apartments behind Bethel Church show little of the problems caused in WW2 when on the 12th of May 1941 the German bombers dropped their bombs on the town, as a result of this a great many houses suffered damages and were later demolished. In this area was cleared the plot became a garage for the Silcox Bus Company.
No.51 was the GREYHOUND Public House which appeared in Kelly’s Directory for 1891, this was the only listing to appear, however the fact that a premises is not listed does not necessarily mean that it had closed, it is known that prior to and during of WW2 the Culley family held the licence. It would appear that the Funeral Directors JOHN ROBERTS & SON bought the building.
St Johns Church - On Aug. 19, 1846, Edward Laws, Esq., trustee of the Meyrick estate, conveyed, for a consideration of £50, to the Church Building Commissioners a site for the erection of the Church. Lord Auckland, the then First Lord of the Admiralty, laid the foundation stone on Sept 21st, 1846. He was accompanied by Sir Charles Adams, Capt. Berkeley (later Lord Fitzhardinge), and Capt. Cowper (afterwards Lord Mount Temple). The work must have been commenced before the execution of the deed of conveyance, as it was far advanced when the stone was laid, the function having evidently been delayed so as to fit in with the annual inspection of the Dockyard. The Pembrokeshire Herald of Sept. 25th, 1846, devoted a column to a description of the stone-laying ceremony. It tells us that the Rev. James Allen, chairman of the Building Committee, distributed tickets freely to admit the holders to seats in a gallery erected for the occasion. A procession, perhaps the most imposing that Pembroke Dock has ever seen, was formed at the National School, and marched to the site in the following order
The Scholars of the National School.
At the site itself Lord Auckland was greeted by the hoisting of the flag of the Lords of the Admiralty, and was received by a Guard of Honour, composed of 50 Royal Marines, the enclosure being kept by a detachment of the 37th (Hampshire) Regt. A psalm was sung, and the Rev. G. F. Kelley read the service appointed for the occasion. The Rev. James Allen read the inscription on the parchment, which was then placed in a sealed bottle, together with the customary coins. When the stone had been 'well and truly laid,' Lord Auckland delivered an address, and he was followed by Capt. Falcon, the then Captain Superintendent of the Yard.
A plate seems to have been placed over the cavity in the stone, and then walled over. This plate is said to bear the following inscription
'This corner stone of the Church of St. John the Evangelist was laid on the 21st of September, A.D. 1846, by George, Earl of Auckland, G.C.B., First Commissioner of the Admiralty; James Pack Harrison, Esq., Architect; David Griffith, Mason; T. Maples, Clerk of the Works.'
A local tradition identifies a stone bearing the broad arrow near the tower door as the foundation stone, but there is no definite proof of this.
St John’s was built in 1845, shortly after this the Army, having been told that they could no longer use the Garrison Chapel began to use St John’s, however the church was not large enough for all of them, therefore for the first time in the history of the British standing army the men were allowed to choose their religion, and in my experience during 1958 the Orderly Sergeant still questioned the soldiers at the church door to ascertain their religion.
The man on the left wearing a white helmet is possibly a soldier of the 2nd Battalion. The Duke of Edinburgh’s Wiltshire Regiment.
No.50-52 CAMBRIA HOUSE which stands on the corner of Church and Bush Street (see above): was occupied by S. DAVIES a Draper
No.53 CHANCERS NIGHT CLUB appeared in 2009
No.54 IRONMONGERS shop owned and run by George Fish, his fame in life was to lay in front of the German tanks when they first arrived for training at Castlemartin. When he died his brother Ted took over. Following his death the business closed and the building was divided into flats. In the above picture the Ironmongers shop has a black car parked outside.
No.55 The Conservative Club (1883) was here for many years, now 2008 renamed to become the Club Martello
No.56 & No.58 At some stage this was occupied by the Lipton Store which was possibly prior to GIBBY the Chemist, in the 1950’s Williams Café was on the first floor and had the first Jukebox in Pembroke Dock (1959/60). Today this building has been refurbished as Flats.
No.57 Oliver’s Shoes traded from here followed by Mr Fred Lewis (opposite St. Johns Church) he was a wholesale sweet supplier general store complete with Furnishings and Ironmongery. Today Adept Dry Cleaners have the building.
No.59 By 1914 William Henry Thomas a photographer was working from this address, he moved away about 1923/26.
No.60a. is a Barbers Shop Est. 1981, with flats on the upper floors
No.61 Lieutenant Charles Gordon (later General) having arrived in Pembroke Dock took up residence in this building (see Gordon Street). It is possible that when Gordon departed for the Crimean in 1854 that Taylors the Ironmongers moved in, this family was not related to the Taylors trading on Dimond Street. Today General Gordon’s house is an antique and household shop.
No.62 Gibby the Chemist and Druggist was followed by a convenience Shop. Thomas Fish has parked his van in front of the building. And the house behind the van you can see it was damaged by German bombs.
No.63 A company trading in Naval, Military and Mufti Ladies Costumes, the complex was bombed in an air raid on 12th May 1941, following the war No.63 (and 47 Lewis Street) were rebuilt while No.46’s plot in Lewis Street is still vacant. Shortly after the building was completed it became known as Howards corner, as he was the largest dealer in leather in the area. When he moved on the building was used by the Food Office, followed by the Guardian Newspaper Office, today (2009) No.63 and 47 is now a dental surgery.
No.65 was in 1889 the Bush Tavern according to Slater’s Royal National Commercial Directory and the licensee was John Rougier, the Bush Tavern is still trading today (2009).
No.66 GEORGE JONES & SON were Builders and Contractors, Freehold Estate Building followed by Pembroke Wash Vac Centre.
No.69 this was a two storied house and shop with an arched vehicular access to the yard at the rear. In 1939 it was occupied by Edith Thomas and after the Second World War by Mr Geoff. Hewitt trading as Hewitt Brothers, who was an electrical contractor and he also sold electrical goods from the shop, after his death, the premises were sold. They were demolished in the late 1990s and the present building constructed on the site.
No.75 the ‘Home Stead’ ‘Alternative medicine’, now (2008) has been developed into Apartments.
ETTRICK HOUSE W. & J. GRIEVE trading in Gents clothing made on the premises by experienced Workmen. 2005 changed to apartments.
St ANDREWS CHAPEL built in 1866 by the Calvinists, who moved from the GERSHOM CHAPEL in 1867/68. A recently erected building; it is consequently like its contemporaries. It accommodates about 1,200 persons and ws erected in 1866.
No.76 On the site of this building was the ORD’s THEATRE Captain Ramsey, RN, was a great follower of the various events, which took place in the Ord's Theatre, which stood at the north east end of South Gwyther Street. It is recorded that he would often pay admission costs for up to 50 boys a week in order that they could enjoy the entertainment staged there. This theatre was still in operation in 1900.
No.90 in 1953 Mr H. Colvin moved his window cleaning and chimney sweeping from 13 Prospect Place to this place.
County Intermediate School - This school was situated in Bush Street to the east of Argyle Street and was built by the School Board between 1897 and 1899. It was enlarged in 1904 to provide laboratories for the study of the sciences. Further buildings were added in 1933 and these included the school hall and gymnasium
MEMORIAL PARK, This ground was purchased or leased by the Board of Ordnance c1850 as part of a general scheme to strengthen the defences in the area. It is shown on the 1861 O.S. Map as an athletic ground and was used as such during the Centenary Celebrations of 1914. It was little used by the Military after W.W.I and was purchased by Pembroke Borough Council from Bush Estate in the early 1920s to form a Memorial Park. On Saturday 2nd May 1925, it was opened by Lady Mary Meyrick (of Bush). At the opening some hilarity was caused by a dog who wandered onto the scene at the crucial moment of declaring the Park open.
The new gates were opened by Councillor Mrs E.W. Kemp on Sunday 24th June 1956 and she was presented with a silver key.
A World War One tank was placed on a plinth at the entrance of the Park as a tribute to the dead and a reminder of the futility of war. It had been removed before the Second World War and the public conveniences which were erected on the site have now been demolished.
In 1941, the grass tennis courts were ploughed up to grow onions, to help with the food shortage. In 1956 new ornamental gates were installed together with a clock in memory of Arthur Jane Kavanagh aged 12 (son of Albert George Kavanagh and Cecelia Kavanagh of 14 Hill Street) and Cyril Morris Jenkins aged 18 (son of William James Jenkins and Mary Jenkins of 5 Hill Street) who were two A.R.P. messenger boys killed near Imble lane by the blast from a bomb on 11th June 1941. Mr John Thomas Baskerville aged 53, who was an Air Raid Warden, was also killed in the same incident. He was the husband of Edith Mary Baskerville of 91 High Street, Pembroke Dock.
St Albans Church was one of the brick built huts at Bush Camp and was used as a church by the Army, the map above show where the church was situated. In 1949, it was one of the buildings rented to Pembrokeshire Council as part of the temporary fire station and was demolished c1958. The site is now part of the Hawkestone Road Estate (the south western end of St. John’s Road).
The houses of Gwyther Street South can be seen in the back ground
BREWERY ROW or SOUTH BREWERY STREET
Which changed its name after Thomas Charlton who, following the death of his mother in 1858 inherited Apley Castle in Shropshire; he also adopted his mothers maiden name which was ‘Meyrick’. (See Apley Terrace & Charlton Hotel).
On the corner of Charlton Place and Bush Street was W.G. Rees Baker – Grocer and Provisions, today his house and business has given way to a green area.
In 1880 Slater’s Royal National Commercial Directory lists the STEAM HAMMER in Charlton Place; the Licensee was Francis N. Packe.
POLICE STATION In 1884 the Police Court was first opened at Pembroke Dock, I am aware that in the nineteen fifties the court was in the Market place, it was also known to have been in the Mechanics Institute, the Constables at some stage were PC Charles Giles and PC Frances Bodman.
RESERVOIRS - These were two reservoirs built by the Admiralty before 1861. They were fed by springs issuing into tunnels driven under the Barrack Hill and from a well at the top of Tregennas Hill. Originally they supplied water to the Dockyard and the houses built on Government land in Cumby Terrace, Princes Street, Market Street and Pembroke Street. They were used as emergency water tanks for fire fighting during W.W.II but were filled in the early 1970s to make a playing field for Albion Square School.
OLD POUND and LOCK-UP - This pound and lock-up was sited on the verge at the south end of the street and consisted of a stone built pound and an adjoining small lock-up with an iron studded wooden door. The pound was for unruly animals and the lock–up for unruly humans. It was demolished in the 1950s.
ALBION SQUARE, c1905.
On the 23rd of August 1817 Robert Lilwall signed a lease to build a substantial dwelling house, malt houses and brew houses to the value of at least £500. The house that he built was not Albion House but the house later known as Cae Glas which adjoined to and almost became part of Albion House. Today Albion House has given way to a car park.
Early 1820s Robert Lilwall gives up brewing on the site. The reason for this may have been difficulties in obtaining an adequate supply of water for brewing. He is supposed to have obtained his water by a pipe laid from the Fountain Well (which today puts it at the top of Park Street) but with the development of the intervening land he may have lost his right to this water and the pipeline. Thomas George Lowe West then takes over the site and demolishes the malt houses and brew houses to build the Albion House against the Cae Glas. He also built number 5 Bush Street. He may have intended to use the building as a brewery but never did.
According to George Mason ‘for several years it was let out in parts, and had become a sort of barracks until the early thirties…’ in the 1830s the southern part of the building was used by Mr George Hicks Davies as a grocer’s shop and bakery. Around 1837 the northern and major part of the building was converted into a Draper’s and Outfitter’s shop by Mr William Dawkins which he then leased to Mr Trayler. On page 54 this building is recognisable with Trayler’s name on the gable end. The following will give you an idea of what he sold;
The size of the building can be judged from the accommodation. It had five rooms on the ground floor used as shops and storerooms, ten rooms on the first floor, several rooms in the cellar as well as two stables and a coach-house (a garage in the 1950s). The last occupier was Edwin George Bankcroft who took over the premises between 1914 and 1920 and was a general and fancy draper.
During W.W.II the building was severely damaged by enemy action and was bought by Mr H. J. Scard who had thoughts of using the building (or the site) for a cinema. However the building became dangerous and was purchased and demolished by the Borough Council in 1956, today the site is a car park.
The Cae Glas which was not included in the demolition is now converted into four houses.
Above you can see Albion House which was also seen on page 48, on the extreme right is the Junior School for boys and girls, when it was closed in 2007 it became a further education centre and a place for meetings.
CONGREGATIONAL CHAPEL, (Tabernacle) – Was designed by R. C. Sutton and built by W. Warlow of Pembroke Dock at a cost of £3,940, it was opened on 28th June 1867. But in the 1950s, it become surplus to the requirements of the Church and was offered to the Pembroke Borough Council. They applied for Loan sanction for £3,250 in 1953 to buy the hall and the building was sold to the Council in 1954. An application was made to the Home Office at the same time for the name to be changed to the ‘Queen Elizabeth II Hall’ but this was refused. The Hall was used for dances (The Astralaires led by Flight Sergeant Bush), boxing and Bingo sessions. The basement was used as a Youth Club for a while under the watchful eye of Sandy Buttle who past away February 24th 2009, this building was also an ‘overflow’ classroom for Albion Square School. It was sold to Pembrokeshire County Council as a possible site for a public library and ‘inherited’ by Dyfed County Council in 1974. Dyfed in turn sold it to a developer who demolished it in 1989. The site has now been developed by a Housing Association to sheltered flats.
West End Garage ‘Popton’ Williams occupied the land beside the shop in the early 1900s. He kept a few cows and ran a retail milk business; he also supplied a horse and carriage for funerals.
The 1939 Electoral Register shows the premises occupied by Winifred Williams. After WWII the property was bought by Mr Hugh Hall who established a Garage on the site. In 1957 he demolished the old house and rebuilt it as a car showroom with a flat over. Hugh retired and sold the premises which are now a shop Known as Albion Stores.
James Henderson who describes himself as a Painter, Paperhanger and a Sign Writer, and he describes his business as being in Albion Square, Bush Street. I can only guess that he was tucked in behind Albion House.
The Co-Operative built a store and warehouse on the south side of the square. At some point after 1889 a Cadre of 40 men from the 1st Battalion, The Connaught Rangers arrived under the command
of Lt. Col. Sir G.A. HochepiedLarpent. This unit assisted in fighting a fire that broke out in the Co-operative Society building. In 2008 this building became apartments, with a TV Repair shop on the ground floor, but it was a short stay as within months it relocated to No.23 Commercial Row, like all buildings in the conservation area this building has recently (2008) had a face lift.
This short terrace of five, three storied houses with basements lies between Pembroke Street and the ‘Co-op’ Back Lane. It appears to have been built in two parts – the western section of two houses and a shop were built in 1864, while the two houses on the east side were built some time later.
No.03 & 04 In 1884 William Webb, was dealing in sewing machines, bicycles and tricycles, He was also an insurance agent for the Royal London Assurance Society. In the 1881 Census William Webb, aged 34 and born in Tenby, is shown as an insurance agent and living at No.20 Dimond Street with his wife Amelia and three children; Augusta aged 9, Minnie aged 7 and Gertrude aged 3 (see Dimond St). He also seems to have dealt in second-hand furniture. The fanlight above the door to the shop bears the legend ‘WEBB No.3 ENTRANCE’. He was at No’s 3 and 4 Victoria Terrace from about 1884 to some time before 1914. The second house from the left was a private School managed by Madam Foster-Lander.
The CLARENCE HOTEL was named after King William the Fourth, when he visited the town to launch a ship of the same name in 1827. The Hotel was situated on the east corner of Pembroke Street and Victoria Terrace. It became the rendezvous of stagecoach travellers, the site also became the first Post Office for letters in Pembroke Dock. This came about when the Admiralty insisted that their letters be delivered nearer to their place of work rather than in Pembroke, thus giving them time to respond to their mail and sent replies back on the same day. At one time a person would stand on the Hotel steps and read the London news paper out loud to those who could not read or afford or afford a paper. The hotel became derelict during W.W.II. and was demolished in 1948.
In the 1870s, mine host was Mr George T. Husband who by that year had moved the Post Office into Pembroke Street; he was also Pembroke Dock’s last Water Bailiff.
H. R. H. the Duke of Clarence tarried at the top of the street and it is understood that with Dr. J. W. Paynter J.P. they then continued their journey to Stackrocks.
The name Victoria Terrace was dropped before 1939 and the street became part of Victoria Road. The houses are not numbered in the 1939 Electoral Register as each house has its own name.
Gas Street Lighting - Gas lighting was first installed in Pembroke Dock about 1853 when John Richards established a gas works in King William Street. The first few street lamps were funded by public subscription and were in Queen Street East and Lewis Street.
In 1948, the streets of the Town were still lit by gas and although much improved, the standard of lighting was still poor in comparison with electricity. In January 1948 the Pembroke and District Gas Company terminated their lighting contract with the Borough Council. This contract, which had been entered into in 1938, was terminated because the Gas Company was losing £350 annually on the contract. Prior to the War there were 276 gas street lamps and as some of these had two mantles there were 446 mantles consuming three million cubic feet of gas annually at a cost of £750. The maintenance costs were £600. The cost of a new contract for gas lighting would have been £1,950.
The Borough Surveyor, Mr W. B. Kavanagh, said in his report to the Lighting Committee that ‘It would be the height of folly for the Council to purchase and improve the existing street lighting system, which are obsolete’. By August 1949 the last few remaining gas lamps had been replaced by electric lamps; the last one to go being at the eastern end of King William Street.
It would be remiss of me should I not mention the Army who from 1844 to 1967 Garrisoned the Town in readiness should an emergency arise.
Between 1815 and 1844 Royal Marines stood guard over the Dockyard but in 1844 this duty was transferred to the standing army.
In the summer of that year the first regular regiment of the standing army arrived. The 14th Foot (The Prince of Wales's Own) nicknamed ‘The Old and Bold’ attributed to them following their exploits in battle, arrived and went under canvas in the shadow of Treowen Barracks which stood on St Patrick’s Hill overlooking the Dockyard.
This unit was the vanguard for over a hundred regiments, which garrisoned Pembroke Dock, some of whom returned more than once.
During the 1890s the Master Gunner, Robert H. Fair, Royal Artillery who lived in the Master Gunner’s house on Victoria Road (and is still in use in 2009) on Monday 2nd January 1899 he married at St Katherine’s Church, Milford Haven.
With France continually rattling their swords this duty was taken very seriously by both the Soldiers and the residence of Pembroke Dock, and what was created here will never be forgotten because the whole town was to work and live at the cutting edge of the world’s most powerful military machine, consisting of Navy, Army and later the Air Force, whose combined demands maintained a pressure on the town and its residents up to and including the second would war. At times, almost impossible demands on its infrastructure and resources were stretched to its limits, a pressure which lasted for 153 years.
With so many troops deployed in the Defensible Barracks (1844), Upper Camp (1854), and Pennar Barracks (1845) a plan was put in place covering the three areas to share their resources. From that time it became known as the: DEFLANPEN
DEF LAN PEN
Defensible Bks Llanion Upper Camp Pennar Bks
Believed to be a ‘loose co-operation’ agreement between the three Barracks in the Garrison
During that time Pembroke Dock played host to 60 infantry battalions, some of whom came back time and time again, plus 43 artillery batteries, of which 20 had formed in the town between 1915 and 1917. In addition there were the East Indian Fusilier Companies, an American Infantry Regiment plus many local volunteer units such as the Pater Artillery, The Royal Pembrokeshire Artillery Militia, the 2nd (Pembroke Dock) Depot Battalion, the 2nd (Pembroke Dock) Rifle Corps, the Pembrokeshire Royal Garrison Artillery, the Pembrokeshire Heavy Regiment, Royal Artillery, and finally the 620 Infantry Royal Artillery, in addition to these Pembroke Dock also hosted the volunteers of the Monmouthshire's, Cardiganshire's, Carmarthenshire's and many other militia volunteers, not forgetting a great many flying boats and sea plane Squadrons including Canadian, American, Dutch and Australian, all of whom played their part in creating and modelling a town which has yet to celebrate its 200th Birthday.
A view over the west wall of the Defensible Barracks with the Monmouthshire Regiment paraded on what is now the Golf Club, the Monmouthshire’s arrived to relieve the 31st West Surry Regiment who then took part in the battle of Sevastopol; Lieutenant Gordon (later General) accompanied them.
The Crimean war produced vast numbers of wounded soldiers, and here in Pembroke Dock a new camp was built to accommodate them. This new camp was named ‘Upper Camp’ (1854) and the sight for it was chosen by an Officer of the Submarine Engineers stationed at the Barracks at Pennar Point East; His survey took into consideration the quality of air which would help the healing of the wounded, it was also away from other camps but at the same time close to the Cemetery.
This little camp even had a hospital complete with an operation room, so well did it fit the needs of the Military that it was used during WW1 and beyond, in fact the Hospital was still in use up to 1967 as a Medical Reception Station (MRS).
The last two ‘rebuilt huts’ at Llanion demolished in 1986. The reader may know this location as being a County Council Yard just below Llanion Barracks.
A few men of the Pater (Pembroke Dock) Artillery Corps may well have enrolled to serve on in other volunteer units, as the unit was disbanded in 1884, being superseded by the newly formed Garrison Artillery Regiment, bringing to an end the very first Pembroke Dock Volunteer Unit. One of these Garrison Artillery Regiments was the 116th, which was already in the Defensible Barracks. It was 1903 before the Pater Artillery Corps colours were laid up in the care of St Mary’s Church Pembroke. This happened during a special service attended by the unit’s last commanding officer Captain Charles Augustus Christie, when he offered them into the care of Charles Hayward Phillips, the Vicar from 1899 to 1924. Captain Christie's first appointment had been with the 2nd (Pembroke Dock) Artillery Corps on 14th October 1868.
The dismantling of the Pater Fort, which had also started in 1903, caused a heated debate in the House of Commons, when Mr Wynford Philipps, MP for Pembrokeshire, questioned the use of War Department property being removed without the proper authority. This ‘War Department’ property centred around a decision which had been taken locally by the Naval Department to gift some of the stones making up the forts north wall to the town, who in turn used them to build a church. However the MP lost his case and the construction of St Teilo's church, on the corner of London Road and Ferry Lane was completed and is still in use to this day (2009).
Today a grass embankment, the same one on which they are sitting on in the picture, marks the south and west wall of the Pater Fort, and where once 68 pounder cannons peeked over the wall, today you are more likely to see men from the Water Board. The 1867 photograph of the Pater Artillery posing on that bank in the fort clearly shows that there are a number of men wearing the uniform of the Pembrokeshire Yeomanry and Pembrokeshire Rifle Corps. The reason for this mixture could be that men from other units may be attached, or that on leaving the service they were allowed to keep them for use in a volunteer unit.
The Admiralty authorised the building of a Chapel within the dockyard walls which was built c1835, every Sunday the Officers and the tradesmen working in the yard would attend the Sunday Service, but as the Chapel was never more than half full the Admiral invited the Army to join them, which helped to maximise the available room. This liaison worked very well for many years but as the number of soldiers increased, it became difficult for the Dockyard workers to find a seat, but the problem was eventually sorted when the Army were told to find somewhere else (see St John’s Church).
DOCKYARD CHAPEL Memorial Windows In 1887 Mrs Kelly, the wife of Captain Kelly the Dockyard Superintendent, and a Mrs Davies, the wife of a Draper, collected sufficient funds to ‘place a beautiful stained glass picture’ in the east window of the Chapel. It illustrated the 39th verse of the 5th chapter of St. Mark’s gospel. ‘Christ rebuking the waves and calming the sea’. It was dedicated to the Officers and ship’s company of HMS Atalanta who perished off the Bermuda Islands in 1879.
According to Commander J.S. Guard RN, Atalanta was built in the Dockyard as HMS Juno and launched on 1st July 1847. She was refitted and renamed in 1878 and was lost with all hands on her maiden voyage; ‘thus adding strength to the sailor’s superstition about changing names’. To confuse matters, there was also an HMS Atalanta launched in the Dockyard on 9th October 1847.
After W.W.II, a new memorial window was installed in memory of the airmen from the RAF Pembroke Dock who lost their lives during the war. This was removed by the RAF when the station was closed in 1957. A replica of the window can be seen in the Public Library, Pembroke Dock.
From 1930 to 1957 when the Royal Air Force left Pembroke Dock the Chapel became a place of entertainment, with a Theatre and a Cinema (The Astra) where among others one man stood out as an exceptional entertainer, Mr Samual (Sam) Holmwood was a fantastic singer and people came from afar to hear him. Sam had served with the Royal Artillery and was demobilised in Pembroke Dock, following his demob among other things he took up entertaining, today (July 2009) Sam can still be seen around town walking from his house in Law Street to the shops.
Sam told me that he was always the last to go on stage, in his words ‘Because of my love of music and singing they could not get me off the stage’ He went on to tell us that. ‘When I was impersonating the late great Al Johnson I would always use black boot polish to emanate him when I sang his songs.
Sykes, who lived on Military Road, would fire the gun, which was mounted in the Defensible Barracks, twice a day, the ‘midday’ gun when fired could be heard in Kilgetty where the farmers would set their time pieces. And when the ‘2100hrs’ gun fired it was a signal for all young ladies to be homeward bound. This block was demolished when the last regiment moved out in the 1967
Living in Pembroke Dock today are a great many people who are descendants of both the men and women who served the crown either by working in the Royal Dockyard or had served with the many regiments and squadrons which came here.
As you have already discovered, in celebration of those distant, hectic days, first the Pembroke Borough Council and latterly the Pembroke Dock Town Council have recognized those naval commanders, regiments, squadrons and the founding fathers by naming many of the streets after them. Which all serve to this day in reminding successive generations of those days long past, thus keeping alive the town’s glorious heritage?
There is still much to do about the Central Ward, but before it is written in more research is necessary.
Please Note due to space and copyright issues images and scanned documents have been removed, but by clicking This Link you can view the full version of the work. The document remains the property of Ron W Watts and cannot be reproduced without his express permission
This web site is developed in the Community By the Community for the Community
Pembroke Dock Community Web Project
Web Project Co-Ordinator- © MoonlightBlue